The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar
Question from a "non-college" official.

While I know each situation is different you would certainly have to be consistant and isn't it just easier to call the first?
Funny you should mention this...one comment the coach made was something to the effect of "that happens all the time in the college game and never gets called"...well I thought to myself, it hadn't happened that game prior to this..it didn't happen again after that (thankfully!), and I probably watched all or part of at least 5 NCAA games over the weekend and after my game I was on full alert to see if it happened in any of those games and I never saw it...I don't think I have ever really watched for it much in the past, but I certainly don't think it happens "all the time". I know I haven't had it in a hs game this year, possibly last year but I can't recall. Legitimately going for a block and whiffing and "contacting" the bb is not the same thing as smacking it when the ball is well out of reach...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 10:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
One thing I did see in the course of all of those NCAA games though was a blatant violation of the inbound plane that was ignored...can't remember which game it was, but A's ball inbounding from the endline, B is jumping up and down and when he lands, both of his feet are not just on the line, but about 3/4 of the way OVER the line, not to mention his hands which are even further through the plane...granted A1 had plenty of room behind him and he just backed up, but still...to my knowledge this is administered the same as NF with a team warnign and then a team T (indirect) - again to you seasoned college guys is this just a no call? At lease assuming there is room behind the inbounder?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 12:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
One thing I did see in the course of all of those NCAA games though was a blatant violation of the inbound plane that was ignored...can't remember which game it was, but A's ball inbounding from the endline, B is jumping up and down and when he lands, both of his feet are not just on the line, but about 3/4 of the way OVER the line, not to mention his hands which are even further through the plane...granted A1 had plenty of room behind him and he just backed up, but still...to my knowledge this is administered the same as NF with a team warnign and then a team T (indirect) - again to you seasoned college guys is this just a no call? At lease assuming there is room behind the inbounder?
You need to check the NCAA rule.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 08:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You need to check the NCAA rule.

Geez make me work OK, I see 7.6.6.b where the rule is the same as far as an opponent not having any part of his or her person over the inside plane of the boundary line, so what I was seeing was at least a violation that was not called...I see where it is an indirect tech to reach through and touch the ball in 10.3.8, but I don't see anywhere that indicates the penalty for 7.6.b specifically? Help?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
Geez make me work OK, I see 7.6.6.b where the rule is the same as far as an opponent not having any part of his or her person over the inside plane of the boundary line, so what I was seeing was at least a violation that was not called...I see where it is an indirect tech to reach through and touch the ball in 10.3.8, but I don't see anywhere that indicates the penalty for 7.6.b specifically? Help?
Hint: Violations are in rule 9.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Hint: Violations are in rule 9.

Are you referring to 9.15? So the penalty would just be award the ball back to A? But A already had the ball so what is the penalty? Or are you saying this is why they never call it/blow it dead unless it is really inhibiting the thrower because there isn't really a penalty?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
Are you referring to 9.15? So the penalty would just be award the ball back to A? But A already had the ball so what is the penalty? Or are you saying this is why they never call it/blow it dead unless it is really inhibiting the thrower because there isn't really a penalty?
Now you're learning.

I'm continually amazed by the number of people working college games who don't know the rules. I guess the assignors expect them to learn as they go or perhaps they expect us to teach them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1