The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2008, 11:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixer
That's not how I read the original post.
Yeah, you're right - I misread the original post and just deleted my post.

With that said, false double fouls are still enforced. In the NCAA most technicals are enforced by shooting two and then resuming at the POI, which would be the free throws for the original foul.

It appears that one of two things happened - the officials didn't administer the intentional foul correctly, or the OP/announcers/someone made a mistake and the original foul wasn't an intentional.

Last edited by jdw3018; Sat Jan 05, 2008 at 11:23pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2008, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
In the NCAA most technicals are enforced by shooting two and then resuming at the POI, which would be the free throws for the original foul.
Which leads me to believe that either a) the refs handled incorrectly (doubtful) or b) the original foul was not intentional. However, I'm sure JS 20 is sharp enough to notice whether the signal for an intentional foul was given or not.

Dunno, sounds incorrect.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2008, 11:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixer
Which leads me to believe that either a) the refs handled incorrectly (doubtful) or b) the original foul was not intentional. However, I'm sure JS 20 is sharp enough to notice whether the signal for an intentional foul was given or not.

Dunno, sounds incorrect.
Agree completely.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 06, 2008, 12:26am
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Looking at the internet play-by-play on the Louisville website, they have the intitial foul at 8:13 as a Personal, not Intentional, followed by the T on the UL player...so it sounds like the refs handled it correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 06, 2008, 12:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
It was a double whistle situation where the lead called the foul and the C came in with the intentional signal. I can only guess that when they talked, the C agreed to drop the intentional call. I think that was a mistake. It wasn't the hardest foul you'll ever see, but an intentional would have been a good call in that sit.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 06, 2008, 11:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
It was a double whistle situation where the lead called the foul and the C came in with the intentional signal. I can only guess that when they talked, the C agreed to drop the intentional call. I think that was a mistake. It wasn't the hardest foul you'll ever see, but an intentional would have been a good call in that sit.
Exactly, C came in w/ the intentional while L was in between the players. I agree it should have been an intentional. Correct me if i'm wrong, but from what I remember, not only did the defender grab the shooter's arm and pull him to the ground, but he grabbed it at or above the elbow. I think he had him around the bicep area, can't really say he was going for the ball. Based on the situation he was just trying to stop the dunk. In retrospect, given what happened afterwards, kind of wonder why they didn't leave it as an intentional to help get control of the game.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2008, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 547
didn't see the play, only the previous postings.....based on the descriptions, the crew did NOT handle the T correctly. They had a dead ball T (happened after the original foul was called) that included contact (the pushing/shoving) which they deemed not to be Flagrant ( not combative action/punch/etc) - this is one of two situations where the T is penalized by 2 FT's and the ball (administered at half-court opposite the table). In essence, the crew had an intentional technical foul and did not penalize correctly.

There are only two possible explanations for handling the T penaly as they did: 1) the got it wrong, or 2) the T was not called for a shove/push, but rather just for something a player said verbally......

I had this exact situation happen to me earlier in the year and did not administer the penalty correctly. As a result, I'll "never make that mistake again"......
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA-M Question tjones1 Basketball 2 Sun Feb 11, 2007 08:56am
NCAA question ATXCoach Basketball 1 Tue Dec 13, 2005 08:41pm
NCAA, Question 50 FVB9 Baseball 11 Mon Mar 28, 2005 09:56pm
NCAA Question mikesears Football 13 Mon Jun 14, 2004 11:48am
NCAA Question barney19 Lacrosse 1 Wed May 29, 2002 06:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1