The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2008, 05:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
Nevadaref has previously explained, with proof, that the National Fedeation finally stated explicitly to not allow for "do-overs". They seemed rather adamant about this case, so one might be smart to listen to this; even if it seems that this is the right thing to do. However, I'm not certain that this situation falls inside the Fed's thinking in this case.
It's a timing error. This is clearly a situation to which the statement is intended to apply.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
1) Nevadaref has no definitive proof to back up his previous opinion. The FED language issued re: do-overs was not meant to cover a play like this. This play is a do-over.
Nope, not my opinion, it's a clear statement by the NFHS. It's right there in black and white in the new officials manual.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
I searched for NV's post re: do-overs and the search function wasn't helpful for me. Oh well.
Allow me to help you locate it.
there are no provisions in the rules for "do-overs"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2008, 07:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
It's a timing error. This is clearly a situation to which the statement is intended to apply.
So based on the facts of this game, what would you do?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2008, 08:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef
So based on the facts of this game, what would you do?
On a play like this I check the clock to make sure that the timer properly waits to start it. So I would have seen it start and caught it after only a couple of seconds came off. At that point I would have sounded the whistle, which would have been well before the player touched the ball inbounds, and reset the clock to 34. Since the stoppage came DURING a throw-in that is the POI and the game is resumed with a throw-in for the same team from the same location.

JR has made a good point in the past that NFHS 4-36-1 does not specify "timing" error, but it does state correctable error. I think that the spirit and intent of the rule is for it to apply just the same. Also I have sent a comment about adding the words "or timing mistake" to my rep on the NFHS rule committee. This is a simple fix which would greatly clarify such situations.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2008, 08:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
On a play like this I check the clock to make sure that the timer properly waits to start it. So I would have seen it start and caught it after only a couple of seconds came off. At that point I would have sounded the whistle, which would have been well before the player touched the ball inbounds, and reset the clock to 34. Since the stoppage came DURING a throw-in that is the POI and the game is resumed with a throw-in for the same team from the same location.
That sure sounds like a do-over...which is what you pointed out the NFHS has said is not allowed.

Also...there is some doubt the whistle came during the throw-in. As the new trail, I was following the ball and the player up the court, with my hand in the air, ready to chop in time as soon as the ball is touched. My partner is about half-way between the division line and the free throw line. The only clock/scoreboard is on the scorer's table and only my partner could see it. He is not watching when the ball is touched and I am not watching the clock. I heard his whistle just as the player picked up the ball. It was close...and I could not say for sure which came first. But for now...assume the touch came first. Does that change what you would do?

Why not let the play continue and at the next dead ball add the 5 seconds that you know came off the clock improperly?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2008, 08:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef
That sure sounds like a do-over...which is what you pointed out the NFHS has said is not allowed.
A do-over would be if, after the ball had been touched and time chopped, you then realized the clock had run extra, blew your whistle, and put the entire time back on the clock and went back to the original throw-in spot.

Using POI is your only option if the ball hasn't been touched, and POI is the throw-in. It matters not where the ball is - since the throw-in hasn't ended, it is the POI.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef
But for now...assume the touch came first. Does that change what you would do?
It would me. I would blow it dead as soon as I realized the issue, use my backcourt count to determine how much time had come off after the ball was touched, take that off of the original time and reset the clock, then inbound at the point nearest the ball when I blew it dead.

In this case, POI is team control with the ball at the point the player had it, so that is why we go to the nearest point.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef
Why not let the play continue and at the next dead ball add the 5 seconds that you know came off the clock improperly?
What if the next dead ball isn't until the game is over? Best to take care of it at the time.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2008, 09:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
What if the next dead ball isn't until the game is over? Best to take care of it at the time.
We did that at the time. In looking back, I am wondering if there is a "better" way so that one team was not "penalized" for the timer's error.

Based on the way this game was going....I am confident there would have been another dead ball. Either the team that was behind would have made a basket (remember the "No foul" cry from the coach...he was willing to trade a basket for time off the clock) or if they missed and did not get the rebound, they would have fouled.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2008, 09:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef
We did that at the time. In looking back, I am wondering if there is a "better" way so that one team was not "penalized" for the timer's error.

Based on the way this game was going....I am confident there would have been another dead ball. Either the team that was behind would have made a basket (remember the "No foul" cry from the coach...he was willing to trade a basket for time off the clock) or if they missed and did not get the rebound, they would have fouled.
Again, mistakes happen, sometimes they place teams at a disadvantage. You don't complicate that error by making a second error: ignoring the timer's mistake and waiting until later to correct it. There's no way to KNOW there will be another dead ball. Kill the play and make the correction.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2008, 08:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
This, once again, is why there needs to be a touched ball requires 3 or 4 tenths to come off the clock.

That way neither team gets screwed by the timers error.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2008, 09:12pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef
That sure sounds like a do-over...which is what you pointed out the NFHS has said is not allowed.
Gee, it is looks like a do-over, quacks like a do-over..........
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2008, 10:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef
I heard his whistle just as the player picked up the ball. It was close...and I could not say for sure which came first. But for now...assume the touch came first. Does that change what you would do?

Why not let the play continue and at the next dead ball add the 5 seconds that you know came off the clock improperly?
Yes, it does. Now I put the five seconds back on the clock that should not have come off, but since I don't know the exact amount that should have elapsed following the touching, I can't remove anything for that. Thus the clock is set to 34 seconds for the new throw-in, which now comes from the closest OOB spot to the location of the ball. That's 4-36-2a and 4-4-3.

PS As BktBallRef has stated, timing errors happen and that's unfortunate, but it's also part of the game. Sometimes theses mistakes favor one team, sometimes the other, sometimes both teams are hurt, sometimes neither. As an official you don't care. You just apply the proper rules.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Tue Jan 01, 2008 at 10:45pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
timer starts clock early mdray Basketball 6 Fri Jan 30, 2004 01:16pm
Clock starts when....??? Ref4all Basketball 17 Thu Feb 06, 2003 08:55pm
Delay of game. Clock starts when? Mike Simonds Football 9 Thu Sep 12, 2002 08:50pm
Clock starts on the ready or the snap? schief Football 3 Thu Sep 14, 2000 06:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1