The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 31, 2007, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 124
The deflection by B2 does not end A's team control of the ball in the frontcourt. A last touched the ball in the frontcourt, then was the first to touch it in the backcourt. No specific exceptions apply to the play. Either I'm missing something or this is not a difficult play.
__________________
Are there rocks ahead? If there are, we all be dead!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 31, 2007, 10:45am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
No you aren't missing anything at all and while it may be a no-brainer to you, me & other members of the board I just want the proof, preferably a casebook play.

I know it's New Years Eve in Vegas but where's Nevada @ when you need him?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2008, 01:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
No you aren't missing anything at all and while it may be a no-brainer to you, me & other members of the board I just want the proof, preferably a casebook play.

I know it's New Years Eve in Vegas but where's Nevada @ when you need him?
Nevadaref is actually in northern Nevada.

It's about a 6-7 hour drive from Las Vegas...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 31, 2007, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by inigo montoya
The deflection by B2 does not end A's team control of the ball in the frontcourt. A last touched the ball in the frontcourt, then was the first to touch it in the backcourt. No specific exceptions apply to the play. Either I'm missing something or this is not a difficult play.
The confusion comes in b/c team A may believe that since the ball is tipped by B towards the BC and they (team A) are standing in the BC when they recover the ball, the ball was caused to get to that point by team B, therefore no BC violation...HOWEVER, we as officials know that since the ball still has the same status as it had when last in contact with a player or the floor, it is still in the FC until A1 "causes" it to go to the BC when A1 catches it in the BC. I thought there was this specific caseplay this year, but I can't find it either...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backcourt oc Basketball 83 Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:23pm
Was this backcourt?? dsimp8 Basketball 10 Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:20pm
backcourt ? sc/nc ref Basketball 3 Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:47pm
Backcourt? Grail Basketball 2 Fri Jan 23, 2004 09:57am
backcourt A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 8 Thu Jan 15, 2004 09:01am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1