The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2002, 10:22pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,143
Quote:
Originally posted by golfdesigner
A1 OOB for throwin following travel violation by B. Administering Official hands ball to A1, B2 signals for timeout [ball already in A's hands for throw-in]. Trail official grants the TO. Should he have ignored the request since ball was at disposal of thrower?

I just want to clarify for myself, when a TO should or should not be granted in this case.

The official should have not granted the timeout, having said that, NFHS and NCAA rules handle this situation differently.

NFHS: Team B gets its timeout. Team A has the ball for a throw-in after the timeout is over.

NCAA: Official says: "Oops, what a dunce I am. Team B does not get a timeout, Team A's ball for the throw-in. Lets go."
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1