The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   granting timouts (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/4068-granting-timouts.html)

golfdesigner Mon Feb 11, 2002 08:00am

A1 OOB for throwin following travel violation by B. Administering Official hands ball to A1, B2 signals for timeout [ball already in A's hands for throw-in]. Trail official grants the TO. Should he have ignored the request since ball was at disposal of thrower?

I just want to clarify for myself, when a TO should or should not be granted in this case.

devdog69 Mon Feb 11, 2002 08:54am

You are correct, he should not have granted the timeout once the ball is at the disposal of A.

mick Mon Feb 11, 2002 09:02am

Quote:

Originally posted by golfdesigner
A1 OOB for throwin following travel violation by B. Administering Official hands ball to A1, B2 signals for timeout [ball already in A's hands for throw-in]. Trail official grants the TO. Should he have ignored the request since ball was at disposal of thrower?

I just want to clarify for myself, when a TO should or should not be granted in this case.

golfdesigner,
Yeah, what devdog69 said. But once we grant it, we have to go with it. We screw it up. We take the heat. :(
mick

golfdesigner Mon Feb 11, 2002 10:55am

I know about the screw-up part, I did it Sat on 5th grade game, visitors in blue jerseys with white tee shirts underneath. home team in white jerseys. I am lead, running down court on fastbreak, team calls time out, I glance at bench see coach with lots of "white" around him, I call grant timeout. As soon as play stops I see my mistake, white had ball on fastbreak, blue not entitled to timeout, but when I glanced over, I saw a lot of white, but not the "right" white. We stopped, gave blue timeout, then went on from there. I told coaches on white my mistake, they were good about it and asked if they could call TO next time blue had fastbreak, I said they could try, but I hoped I wouldn't make same mistake 2x in same game.

mick Mon Feb 11, 2002 11:10am

Quote:

Originally posted by golfdesigner
I know about the screw-up part, I did it Sat on 5th grade game, visitors in blue jerseys with white tee shirts underneath. home team in white jerseys. I am lead, running down court on fastbreak, team calls time out, I glance at bench see coach with lots of "white" around him, I call grant timeout. As soon as play stops I see my mistake, white had ball on fastbreak, blue not entitled to timeout, but when I glanced over, I saw a lot of white, but not the "right" white. We stopped, gave blue timeout, then went on from there. I told coaches on white my mistake, they were good about it and asked if they could call TO next time blue had fastbreak, I said they could try, but I hoped I wouldn't make same mistake 2x in same game.

golfdesigner,
Ouch! I feel your pain.
Nearly a 1/2-dozen times, the visiting coach will be wearing a white shirt, and I have reported a "White" time-out.
I just wanna hide.:(
mick

Bart Tyson Mon Feb 11, 2002 11:18am

OK, since no one else has pointed out the obvious then i guess i will, If the white undershirt is showing, then this is an illegal undershirt. Undershirts must be of simular color.

mick Mon Feb 11, 2002 11:57am

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
OK, since no one else has pointed out the obvious then i guess i will, If the white undershirt is showing, then this is an illegal undershirt. Undershirts must be of simular color.
Bart,
That's the rule.
But the lowest that I have enforced that rule is 8th grade, and only once.
However, I do like to go into the pre-tip huddle and mention, "That shirt is illegal, that shirt is illegal, that shirt...."
mick

Bart Tyson Mon Feb 11, 2002 12:06pm

interesting, Maybe because the higher level the less likely you will see it. I have made a kid in boys varsity take it off. One time i had a rec. league game and the team passed the ball on a fast break to a player with undershirt color of the opponent. I stopped the game right there and made him take the shirt off and gave the ball back to the other team.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Feb 11, 2002 10:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by golfdesigner
A1 OOB for throwin following travel violation by B. Administering Official hands ball to A1, B2 signals for timeout [ball already in A's hands for throw-in]. Trail official grants the TO. Should he have ignored the request since ball was at disposal of thrower?

I just want to clarify for myself, when a TO should or should not be granted in this case.


The official should have not granted the timeout, having said that, NFHS and NCAA rules handle this situation differently.

NFHS: Team B gets its timeout. Team A has the ball for a throw-in after the timeout is over.

NCAA: Official says: "Oops, what a dunce I am. Team B does not get a timeout, Team A's ball for the throw-in. Lets go."

Oz Referee Mon Feb 11, 2002 10:31pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
interesting, Maybe because the higher level the less likely you will see it. I have made a kid in boys varsity take it off. One time i had a rec. league game and the team passed the ball on a fast break to a player with undershirt color of the opponent. I stopped the game right there and made him take the shirt off and gave the ball back to the other team.
Bart, to me this is an excellent example of officiating to the spirit of the rules. Well done!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1