The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 06:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
From BkBallRef: "Once B1 has the ball and is OOB, he's now the thrower".

From ca_rumperee's original post, I assumed, possibly incorrectly, that the second play happened immediately after the first play, that being said, after Team A had scored, Team B would be able to "run the endline", and, in the five allowed seconds, all five players could take turns at being the thrower, passing, or handing, the ball to each other, while out of bounds. If I'm reading ca_rumperee's post correctly, I have an out of bounds violation on B-2 for receiving a throwin pass while inbounds, and then touching out of bounds, or, if B-2 takes too many steps, for traveling before he, or she, steps out of bounds.
BillyMac, I sure wish you'd learn how to use the quote feature.

I didn't know I had to spell it out for you but I guess I can since you didn't understand the short version. I was addressing his original play. When B1 has the ball OOB, he is the thrower. He remains the thrower unless B2 steps OOB and is passed the ball. He cannot pass it to B2 while he is inbounds and then allow B2 to go OOB and become the thrower. That's a violation.

Now, was it really necessary to have to write all that out?

BTW, nothing you wrote makes my statement false.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Sat Dec 29, 2007 at 07:11pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 07:45pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
That's a violation.
Ignoring, for now, a possible travel, is it a throw in violation, or an out of bounds violation?

I believe that, as posted originally, this is a simple out of bounds violation. How can it be a throw in violation if the thrower simply passed the ball to a player who was inbounds when he received the throw in pass. If that's the case, how can the original poster's throw in violation be correct, as BktBallRef stated?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Both calls were correct.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2007, 01:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
BillyMac, I couldn't care less whether it's a throw-in violation or an OOB violation.

If one foot is inbounds and one foot is OOB, it's a throw-in violation, because he's not Completely OOB when he catches the ball.

If one foot is inbounds and he steps OOB, it's an OOB violation, because he's inbounds and steps OOB.

I have no idea which happened.

The important thing is he correctly called a violation. Feel free to figure it out. Either way, A gets the ball.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2007, 10:14am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,502
Throw In Violation

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
If one foot is inbounds and one foot is OOB, it's a throw-in violation, because he's not completely OOB when he catches the ball.
Absolutely correct.

Another scenerio for new officials: If this were a designated spot throwin, and B-2 got completely out of bounds before having the ball handed to him, or her, by B-1, this would also be a throwin violation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2007, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 271
Probably been covered

but, following a made basket, cannot the "thrower" pass it to another player that is also out of bounds and then subsequently inbound the ball?
__________________
All of us learn to write in the second grade. Most of us go on to greater things.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2007, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmeadski
but, following a made basket, cannot the "thrower" pass it to another player that is also out of bounds and then subsequently inbound the ball?
Absolutely can. But that's not the scenario discussed...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2007, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
Absolutely can. But that's not the scenario discussed...
Didn't the original poster clarify that B Teams inbound play happened after A's made basket? So if that's the case, if B1 has the ball for a throw-in and passes this throw-in ball to B2 who has one foot inbound and one oob, then B2 can continue oob to complete the throw-in. So in this scenario, it does matter if B2 has one foot in and one out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inbounds play backcourt no call hbioteach Basketball 9 Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:38pm
Question about foul on inbounds play Damian Basketball 19 Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:37pm
? on inbounds play Maxman7 Basketball 2 Fri Jan 31, 2003 10:50pm
tricky inbounds play BigDave Basketball 8 Sun Feb 10, 2002 08:35am
Interesting inbounds play Mark Dexter Basketball 14 Tue Mar 06, 2001 11:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1