The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 12, 2007, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by NM_Ref
I'm not sure. I make sure that I hear "TIME-OUT!" before I give the time out. They could be saying something else...just like a game tonight.

There was about 30 seconds left in the game. Home team was dribbling down the court...I was table side near division line going past home bench when I hear the coach saying "Time! Time!"

I did nothing..continued down. She kept saying, "Time, Time." I thought she was telling her players to watch the time on the clock. Finally one of her assistants said "Time-out," and I granted it realizing the coach was trying to call time out.

Long story short I guess you have to be sure the time out is what they wanted...then the coach has no recourse if he goes over his limit.
NM Ref, could you explain this in more detail?

There was a play on A’s side of the court and B knocks it out of bounds, partner signals to A and prepares for throwin. Two girls from A leave the bench and go to scorers table, who immediately buzzes. Girls run out onto court and take there places, without being beckoned (because I didn’t see them.). Almost at the exact same time Coach of A calls timeout. I signal timeout and we take our positions. Scorer calls me to the table and lets me know of the situation. I call partner over and ask him if he saw them come in. He said no, I said it didn’t matter anyway because the scorer and timekeeper both saw and confirmed what happened. My ruling?

I give Team A an administrative technical…but thats it. Thats where I messed up. At half I call a buddy and tell him what happened…he said I was right, but didn’t get it all…the technical should have been indirectly given to the coach and she should have lost her box…I didn’t do that…damnit. After half I go to Coach of A and let her know I administered wrong and T should have gone to her indirectly and she should have lost her bench. She appreciated the honesty and realized that she should have lost her box…oh well…lesson learned.
__________________
Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out.
-- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 12, 2007, 10:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Grants, New Mexico
Posts: 49
basically this is what happened.

I was Trail, standing in front of A's bench. Play was opposite me near endline.

B knocks ball out of bounds, as this was happening two of A's players were running to check in at table.

Partner starts to administer throwing, but before he can start it, coach calls timeout. As coach calls timeout, the timekeeper buzzes for the subs. I turn to signal the timeout but the players are already in (I didn't notice though.) I report timeout and we go as normal.

Like 5 seconds into the timeout, scorer calls me over and tells me that right before i reported the timeout, two players from A ran in without being beckoned. The timekeeper confirmed this. I checked with my partner and he didn't see it, but we took their word for it being that they are "officials" as well.

We administered 1 administrative technical for the players illegal entry and gave the ball to B. Where I messed up the call is the T should have indirectly been charged to the coach, causing her to lose her box, which we didn't do.

Don't know if that makes more sense...curious to hear if others think I got it right, or hear the right way to handle that.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 12, 2007, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by NM_Ref
Don't know if that makes more sense...curious to hear if others think I got it right, or hear the right way to handle that.
The T's should have been charged directly to each sub, and not as an "administrative" T, nor indirectly to the coach. 10-2-2.

That said, I probably would have ignored it given the circumstances you describe.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 12, 2007, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lake County, IL
Posts: 343
Being a new official this isn't so much of an issue for me cause I'm soooo focused on the game that the coach usually said time out twice to get my attention.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 12, 2007, 10:45am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by NM_Ref
Like 5 seconds into the timeout, scorer calls me over and tells me that right before i reported the timeout, two players from A ran in without being beckoned. The timekeeper confirmed this. I checked with my partner and he didn't see it, but we took their word for it being that they are "officials" as well.

We administered 1 administrative technical for the players illegal entry and gave the ball to B. Where I messed up the call is the T should have indirectly been charged to the coach, causing her to lose her box, which we didn't do.
Actually, where you messed up was not charging technical fouls to both A players. They're not team technical fouls. There is also no provision to give the head coach an indirect "T". Rule 10-2 and casebook play10.2.1SitA&B.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 12, 2007, 10:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Grants, New Mexico
Posts: 49
ugh...well that sucks...lol

I know I messed up...just wasn't sure where. It was a confusing situation. But it shows me I need to slow down and see the entire situation and go from there...

Thanks for the help...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 12, 2007, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 690
Gotta hand it to you for being willing to share these stories here and on your blog.
__________________
Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out.
-- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 12, 2007, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 555
Send a message via ICQ to bigwhistle
Quote:
Originally Posted by NM_Ref
basically this is what happened.

I was Trail, standing in front of A's bench. Play was opposite me near endline.

B knocks ball out of bounds, as this was happening two of A's players were running to check in at table.

Partner starts to administer throwing, but before he can start it, coach calls timeout. As coach calls timeout, the timekeeper buzzes for the subs. I turn to signal the timeout but the players are already in (I didn't notice though.) I report timeout and we go as normal.

Like 5 seconds into the timeout, scorer calls me over and tells me that right before i reported the timeout, two players from A ran in without being beckoned. The timekeeper confirmed this. I checked with my partner and he didn't see it, but we took their word for it being that they are "officials" as well.

We administered 1 administrative technical for the players illegal entry and gave the ball to B. Where I messed up the call is the T should have indirectly been charged to the coach, causing her to lose her box, which we didn't do.

Don't know if that makes more sense...curious to hear if others think I got it right, or hear the right way to handle that.
why do i bet that you were playing the game on team b's court? it is amazing how the table usually doesn't offer up these helpful tidbits of information if "their" team was the guilty party
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 12, 2007, 06:40pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,465
Time Out

I think the rules committee needs to go back to forcing the players to call TO. Verbally or with signal.

Amen.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 12, 2007, 06:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
I think the rules committee needs to go back to forcing the players to call TO. Verbally or with signal.

Amen.
It's not going to happen.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Improper Whistle nukewhistle Basketball 31 Sun Oct 14, 2007 11:19am
Improper Batter JefferMC Softball 17 Wed Mar 28, 2007 10:49am
Improper Use of Bleeding Injuries NewNCref Basketball 1 Wed Feb 07, 2007 04:54pm
Improper Equipment Kentucky Basketball Football 3 Thu Sep 12, 2002 09:41pm
Improper equipment db Football 6 Thu Nov 09, 2000 01:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1