The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2007, 03:19pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by texaspaul
This time the point drove the lane, jumped off the pivot with a long stride as if to shoot, tucked it back in, landed on both feet.
If the player jumped off the pivot, he has to pass or shoot before landing. He didn't. Therefore he traveled. Good call by your partner.

Rule 4-44-3(b)- "After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot, if a player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2007, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
If the player jumped off the pivot, he has to pass or shoot before landing. He didn't. Therefore he traveled. Good call by your partner.

Rule 4-44-3(b)- "After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot, if a player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal."
Rule 4-44-2 A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:
(b) If one foot is on the floor:
(2) The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.


The play sounds legal to me, but the description of the pivot foot is incorrect - the player never had a pivot foot.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2007, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
Rule 4-44-2 A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:
(b) If one foot is on the floor:
(2) The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.


The play sounds legal to me, but the description of the pivot foot is incorrect - the player never had a pivot foot.
There we go, I was a bit confused and had this same play two nights ago (neither of us called anything, which was correct). No pivot established in the first place.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2007, 03:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 45
JD you are correct. My explanation was faulty.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2007, 03:54pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
Rule 4-44-2 A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:
(b) If one foot is on the floor:
(2) The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.


The play sounds legal to me, but the description of the pivot foot is incorrect - the player never had a pivot foot.
Unfortunately, the original post said that the shooter did have a pivot foot. We can only give answers to what is given to us. And what was given to us was an obvious travel.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2007, 04:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Unfortunately, the original post said that the shooter did have a pivot foot. We can only give answers to what is given to us. And what was given to us was an obvious travel.
Fair enough, though I prefer to probe when it's not clear. And I inferred from his post that he was talking about a legal jump stop.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2007, 06:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
If the player with the ball is dribbling and jumps and while both feet are off the ground lands on two feet they can't have a pivot ... correct?

However, if a player is thrown a pass and and makes a jump stop while catching the ball they can pivot, correct?

If they land one foot first - the first foot to hit the ground is the pivot and can step with the other and shoot or pass.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2007, 06:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
If the player with the ball is dribbling and jumps and while both feet are off the ground lands on two feet they can't have a pivot ... correct?

However, if a player is thrown a pass and and makes a jump stop while catching the ball they can pivot, correct?

If they land one foot first - the first foot to hit the ground is the pivot and can step with the other and shoot or pass.
Johnny - if the player picks up his dribble while in the air and lands on both feet simultaneously, he can pivot on either foot. Same with catching a pass.

The only time a player can't establish a pivot foot is if he/she picks up a dribble with one foot on the ground, then jumps off that foot onto both feet simultaneously. This is a jump stop as defined in the rules, and the player can then lift one or both feet and shoot or pass, but cannot pivot.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2007, 08:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
If they land one foot first - the first foot to hit the ground is the pivot and can step with the other and shoot or pass.
Not quite true. I'll leave it up to you to look in the rules book to figure out why.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2007, 11:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
That's why we have this board - what's not true. It ha to be a slight miss-wording on my part????????????????
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 08:40am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
If they land one foot first - the first foot to hit the ground is the pivot and can step with the other and shoot or pass.
Not quite true. I'll leave it up to you to look in the rules book to figure out why.
The first foot to touch is not the pivot when it touches the ground. The first foot to touch becomes the pivot when the second foot touches the ground.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 08:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
If they land one foot first - the first foot to hit the ground is the pivot and can step with the other and shoot or pass.
Nope, they can even jump off that first foot and land simultaneously on both...legally.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 07, 2007, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Nope, they can even jump off that first foot and land simultaneously on both...legally.
I would like to see that play

in the air land on one and then jump off that and land on two...the triple jump!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2007, 03:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
If the player jumped off the pivot, he has to pass or shoot before landing. He didn't. Therefore he traveled. Good call by your partner.

Rule 4-44-3(b)- "After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot, if a player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal."
You are correct by rule JR, I didn't read it that closely - but I think the he misspoke and didn't mean to say he jumped "off the pivot"...I think you can picture the play he is referring to, as he is gathering the ball, he jumps off one foot and lands on two, therefore he does not have a pivot, but can jump off both and pass or shoot...

Last edited by kbilla; Wed Dec 05, 2007 at 03:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2007, 03:58pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
You are correct by rule JR, I didn't read it that closely - but I think the he misspoke and didn't mean to say he jumped "off the pivot"...I think you can picture the play he is referring to, as he is gathering the ball, he jumps off one foot and lands on two, therefore he does not have a pivot, but can jump off both and pass or shoot...
That's cool if he misspoke. But we can only answer on what we're given.

Every time I try to read somebody's mind, I invariably screw it up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Jump Stop Johnny Ringo Basketball 17 Tue Jan 30, 2007 02:54pm
Jump stop? fan Basketball 40 Mon Jan 09, 2006 12:46pm
jump stop dhodges007 Basketball 7 Tue Feb 17, 2004 01:07pm
jump stop Bart Tyson Basketball 1 Wed Dec 10, 2003 11:03pm
jump stop Ralph Stubenthal Basketball 1 Sun Nov 28, 1999 03:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1