The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 02, 2007, 07:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
1. a. legal action, in this case it is also legal for a defender to grab the ball and try to pull it away.
1. b. illegal. The thrower has violated. Team B's ball at that spot.

2. same as 1.

Rule citations:
9-2-10 NOTE: The thrower may penetrate the plane provided he/she does not touch the inbounds area before the ball is released on the throw-in pass. The opponent in this situation may legally touch or grasp the ball.

9.2.5 SITUATION: Thrower A1 inadvertently steps through the plane of the boundary line and touches the court inbounds. A1 immediately steps back into normal out-of-bounds throw-in position. The contact with the court was during a situation: (a) with; or (b) without defensive pressure on the throw-in team. RULING: A violation in both (a) and (b). COMMENT: Whether or not there was defensive pressure or whether or not stepping on the court was inadvertent, it is a violation and no judgment is required in making the call.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rookie Question samkidder Basketball 4 Mon Jul 23, 2007 08:47am
New/Old Rookie big Volleyball 5 Sat Apr 08, 2006 03:28pm
Rookie Question Rizzo21 Basketball 13 Thu Mar 03, 2005 04:22pm
Rookie jcurtin Basketball 3 Mon Dec 13, 2004 05:00pm
Rookie Test Question #2 - 1 and 1 mbloise Basketball 6 Wed Nov 03, 2004 02:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1