The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 01:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
She was still holding/carrying the ball, and the ball touched in-bounds, right? Let's reverse it - the player is in-bounds, starts to fall over, and while still holding onto the ball, only the ball touches OOB. Would you say the player never went OOB herself?
No, I would not say that. But the rules are very clear that when a ball is in play and inbounds, that if the ball OR the person goes OOB, then a violation has occurred. And for that matter, a person who is holding a ball, and steps OOB, has committed a violation.

Isn't there a something somewhere in the book that says that whatever status a player has, when that player is in contact with the ball, or even dribbling the ball, the ball has the same status? In which case, as long as the player is standing OOB, and no part of their body has touched Inbounds, them and the ball still have OOB status??
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You make the call bigsig Softball 27 Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:42am
You make the call Carbide Keyman Baseball 2 Wed Jun 15, 2005 10:25pm
You make the call! garobe Softball 2 Tue Apr 06, 2004 03:13pm
You make the call #1 oppool Softball 4 Sun Jul 15, 2001 02:38pm
You make the call #2 oppool Softball 5 Sun Jul 15, 2001 01:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1