The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2007, 07:55pm
oc oc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 321
kick ball after basket

Team A scores. B1 throws the ball in and A1 kicks the ball. Spot throw in or running the line?

I think I remember reading a change on this a couple years ago but not sure. My guess is spot throw in on the endline--unless the ball was kicked up court then the ball is put in up where the ball was kicked.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2007, 08:09pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
If the throw-in is on the baseline, then B keeps the right to run. The violation on A doesn't negate it -- if it did, it would give A an advantage by committing the violation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2007, 08:14pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
NFHS case book play 7.5.7SitB
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2007, 08:15pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
If the throw-in is on the baseline, then B keeps the right to run. The violation on A doesn't negate it -- if it did, it would give A an advantage by committing the violation.
And the same would apply if A committed a common foul along the baseline before the throw-in ended. Team B would still get to run the baseline.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon Dec 03, 2007 at 02:43am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2007, 08:24pm
oc oc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
NFHS case book play 7.5.7SitB
That's what I've been looking all over for. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2007, 08:27pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Well...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
And the same would apply if B committed a common foul along the baseline before the throw-in ended. Team A would still get to run the baseline.
Yeah, if A had the ball, but they just made a basket. Just in case someone is confused...or maybe I am?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
And the same would apply if B committed a common foul along the baseline before the throw-in ended. Team A would still get to run the baseline.
Hey badnews, where you been hiding?
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 07:56pm
oc oc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
NFHS case book play 7.5.7SitB
Was this a change (or clarification) from a few years ago? I remember reading about this play before-don't remember where.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 09:02pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by oc
Was this a change (or clarification) from a few years ago? I remember reading about this play before-don't remember where.
It was a clarification in the 2004-05 rule book. The wording was "clarified that a team will retain end-line run privileges after a violation or common foul".
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 02:43am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
Yeah, if A had the ball, but they just made a basket. Just in case someone is confused...or maybe I am?
Ooops, let me go back and change it.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 03:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by oc
Was this a change (or clarification) from a few years ago? I remember reading about this play before-don't remember where.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
It was a clarification in the 2004-05 rule book. The wording was "clarified that a team will retain end-line run privileges after a violation or common foul".
Before that it was indeed a rule change in the 2001-02 rules book.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Holding ball between legs... kick ball? bradfordwilkins Basketball 1 Fri Feb 11, 2005 06:23pm
did the ball go in the basket? sc/nc ref Basketball 4 Thu Jan 13, 2005 11:42pm
ball entering basket below the rim stewcall Basketball 5 Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:58am
Jump Ball Basket: 2 or 3 pts? cropduster Basketball 18 Fri Nov 07, 2003 08:48am
Ball in Play after Basket Redneck Ref Basketball 16 Mon Jan 28, 2002 10:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1