The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 24, 2007, 09:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignats75
Unfortunately, the officials still misapplied the rule since the T needs to be enforced the first time the player with the illegal uniform enters the floor. If the T is not enforced at that time, it cannot be retroactively enforced.


Seems that some of those here need to read the following:

3.6 SITUATION A: A1 is discovered participating with a visible manufacturer's logo on the shirt. RULING: The shirt is illegal, but the technical-foul penalty cannot be invoked unless A1 is replaced and then re-enters. (10-3-2 Penalty)

3.6 SITUATION C: Prior to the jump ball to start the game, the officials observe that the five Team B starters are all wearing pants which have a manufacturer's logo or school's mascot (a) which meets the proper dimension limitations; or (b) exceeds the limitation of 2¼ square inches by 2¼ square inches in any one dimension. RULING: Legal uniforms in (a). In (b), each of the Team B starters is charged with a technical foul. The starters may play and will not be penalized again if they leave and re-enter. Entering substitutes who become players will also be penalized individually if they are wearing illegal pants.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2007, 01:30pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Seems that some of those here need to read the following:
Thanks, I knew I could count on you to save me some time getting my book out of the car. Looks to me pretty clear that if you don't catch it at the start, you hit them whenever they "enter" the game as a sub the next time.

Now, let's add to this a bit. Let's say coach of said team knows the rule and doesn't sub the entire game once he realizes you're going to call it. Can you get them after halftime since they became bench players at the half. Or are you restricted because they didn't enter as substitutes?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2007, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Now, let's add to this a bit. Let's say coach of said team knows the rule and doesn't sub the entire game once he realizes you're going to call it. Can you get them after halftime since they became bench players at the half. Or are you restricted because they didn't enter as substitutes?
I would say restricted unless they enter the game.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2007, 04:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 718
Please explain to me then, why does the language in the federation rules include the words "if discovered prior to ball becoming live"? The Federation wouldn't just arbitrarily add those words unless they meant something. And yes, that is Ohio.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2007, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignats75
Please explain to me then, why does the language in the federation rules include the words "if discovered prior to ball becoming live"? The Federation wouldn't just arbitrarily add those words unless they meant something. And yes, that is Ohio.
Meaning, if a substitute enters the game with an illegal jersey, it can be penalized up until the ball becomes live (ie ball at disposal of player for a throwin). Once the ball becomes live, that player may play without being penalized, until he/she leaves and re-enters the game.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2007, 05:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignats75
But that is never how the the NFHS addresses these types of T's. They must be caught the first time only.
You are not listening. People have told you many times now that what you think is simply not true, yet you keep insisting that it is.

We can't change your mind. You are going to have to do that or elect to continue to misapply the rules.

BTW there is an NFHS interp this very year about a team taking an excess time-out but it isn't recognized or penalized right away that it is more than the alloted number. The ruling is to penalize it when discovered even if that is much later in the game. It is simply not the case that these things must be caught immediately in order to assess a T. Now please reconsider your stance.

Here is the current NFHS interp:
SITUATION 11: A1 requests and is granted an excessive time-out. The excessive time-out is discovered (a) immediately; (b) when A1 has the ball at his/her disposal for a throw-in following the time-out; (c) during a dead ball after three minutes have elapsed off the game clock. RULING: In (a), (b) and (c), assess a team technical foul to Team A for the excessive time-out. Team B is awarded two free throws and the ball for a division line throw-in. The penalty for an excessive time-out is assessed when discovered. (10-1-7 Penalty)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2007, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Now, let's add to this a bit. Let's say coach of said team knows the rule and doesn't sub the entire game once he realizes you're going to call it. Can you get them after halftime since they became bench players at the half. Or are you restricted because they didn't enter as substitutes?



Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
I would say restricted unless they enter the game.
I agree with truerookie. If no changes are made to the players, then I don't believe that it would be reasonable to contend that they left the game and must reenter. The question that we must answer is, do they have to check-in with the scorer prior to the start of the new quarter? The NFHS has never clearly stated anything on that to my knowledge. If the answer is no, then they are already/still in the game. However, it is true that the NFHS clarified just last year that players remain players during all time-outs, but that all team members are bench personnel during intermissions between quarters (4-34-1,2). So there there is a gray area here.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Sun Nov 25, 2007 at 05:10pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tennessee Throw In Violations??? Hartsy Basketball 3 Fri Mar 23, 2007 03:05pm
Tennessee/LSU Kirby Football 6 Sat Nov 04, 2006 11:37pm
Tennessee vs. Michigan Mountaineer Softball 30 Thu Jun 01, 2006 07:39am
Tennessee-Baylor ending sphinxicu Basketball 162 Fri Apr 09, 2004 09:58pm
Tennessee-Louisiana game Jeremy Hohn Basketball 2 Sun Mar 19, 2000 09:51am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1