The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2007, 01:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
I see coaches violate Rule 10-4-1b all the time in some way shape or form. These two things are under the same rule and if one is so important, the other should be held at the same level of importance.




Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
I humbly submit that most of 10-4-1 is much more of a gray area than the part about removing the jersey. After all, being "disrespectfully addressed" can be in the eye of the beholder. When a coach "rises from the bench and uses gestures," sometimes he really is simply trying to communicate some point to his team.

"Removing the jersey within the visual confines of the playing area," on the other hand, is totally unmistakable, is it not? When combined with the above mentioned quote, "The rule is intended to be applied in all situations - even when a player must change uniforms due to blood or other unusual circumstances," I see very little wiggle room in this particular part of the rule.
The problem is that once again iRut is working from a faulty assumption. He does this frequently. He will state a falsehood and then attempt to derive his point from there, not realizing that one cannot logically deduce truth from untruths. But let's not talk about his lack of logic, debating skills, or education. Let's focus upon the specific contention that he makes.

He seems to think that removing a jersey falls under the same rule as pulling a jersey out of the shorts in an emotional display.
Not surprisingly he is incorrect. There are separate rules which apply to each of these actions.
The removal of a jersey is covered by 3-4-15, 10-3-7h, and 10-4-1h. While the unsporting display of emotionally pulling the shirt out of the shorts is governed by 10-3-7a and 10-4-1e. In the latter case it is the gesture indicating resentment, objection, or disgust that is of importance. That is certainly a discretionary area and judgment is required in deciding whether or not a technical foul should be assessed. However, in the former case, it is crystal clear that the jersey has either been physically removed or it hasn't. No judgment is required and the reason why is of no consequence. The rule simply applies under all circumstances.
Two completely different situations.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2007, 01:29am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
He seems to think that removing a jersey falls under the same rule as pulling a jersey out of the shorts in an emotional display.
Not surprisingly he is incorrect. There are separate rules which apply to each of these actions.
The removal of a jersey is covered by 3-4-15, 10-3-7h, and 10-4-1h. While the unsporting display of emotionally pulling the shirt out of the shorts is governed by 10-3-7a and 10-4-1e. In the latter case it is the gesture indicating resentment, objection, or disgust that is of importance.


That is certainly a discretionary area and judgment is required in deciding whether or not a technical foul should be assessed. However, in the former case, it is crystal clear that the jersey has either been physically removed or it hasn't. No judgment is required and the reason why is of no consequence. The rule simply applies under all circumstances.
Two completely different situations.
The OP described two Ts given for removing the jersey to either taunt or to celebrate immediately after the game was over. I do not even know why you even are talking about Rule 3-4-15 (even though the rule references the penalties for a T), because that is not even what we are talking about here. So how can anyone get the two confused when one is talking about penalizing a T and the other is mainly talking about not having a jersey properly tucked in? Either you did not read this thread or you are smoking some really good stuff that has you “tweeking” right now.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2007, 01:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
The OP described two Ts given for removing the jersey to either taunt or to celebrate immediately after the game was over. I do not even know why you even are talking about Rule 3-4-15 (even though the rule references the penalties for a T), because that is not even what we are talking about here. So how can anyone get the two confused when one is talking about penalizing a T and the other is mainly talking about not having a jersey properly tucked in? Either you did not read this thread or you are smoking some really good stuff that has you “tweeking” right now.
There you go again showing your below average reading skills.

The OP wrote
Quote:
Originally Posted by imgrund
In celebration, two players from team A removed their jerseys. The refs called two technical fouls.
The post doesn't mention anything about taunting. You read that into there yourself. It seems more logical to believe that the technical fouls were for simply removing the shirts, not for taunting at all.

Now why would I cite 3-4-15? How about because that rule says, "A team member shall not remove the jersey and/or pants/skirt in the visual confines of the playing area. See 10-3-7h and 10-4-1h for penalty."

Notice that the penalty for this part of the rule is a technical foul as stated in the two included references. The first part is merely the rule requiring the jersey to be worn tucked into the shorts and the penalty is that the player shall be directed to leave the game. Simply having the jersey out, or even pulling it out in a non-unsporting manner, does not result in a technical foul, rather just being sent out of the game. Casebook play 3.4.15 Sit C tells us exactly that. On the other hand if the shirt is pulled out in an unsporting manner, it is the unsporting gesture or manner that results in a T, not the jersey being out of the shorts, and that is due to a different rule (10-3-7a) as I've previously posted, but you failed to comprehend that.

This seems so clear to everyone else so why are you struggling with it? Oh that's right, reading is fundamental.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technicals? The New Guy Basketball 11 Sun Mar 19, 2006 04:11pm
Dodge ball breaks out in game. One or two technicals? Jimgolf Basketball 6 Sat Oct 23, 2004 03:14am
TECHNICALS rburn22281 Basketball 7 Fri Jun 07, 2002 01:37pm
Technicals ref1bal Basketball 9 Sun Mar 31, 2002 08:15pm
technicals rburn22281 Basketball 20 Fri Jan 18, 2002 09:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1