![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
You cannot have it both ways. You said that officials cannot pick and choose what rules to enforce. I have only seen one player actually pull out their jersey in a game I was working (during a post season game and my partner called a T on the player appropriately as he was complaining about a call). I see coaches violate Rule 10-4-1b all the time in some way shape or form. These two things are under the same rule and if one is so important, the other should be held at the same level of importance if we use your logic. And that means that they have to be called no matter when they take place. That is not changing the subject that is using a comparison. Now as I said before, I do not work for you so I personally could give a damn if you call 80 Ts in a game. I will not be around for the fall out.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I humbly submit that most of 10-4-1 is much more of a gray area than the part about removing the jersey. After all, being "disrespectfully addressed" can be in the eye of the beholder. When a coach "rises from the bench and uses gestures," sometimes he really is simply trying to communicate some point to his team. "Removing the jersey within the visual confines of the playing area," on the other hand, is totally unmistakable, is it not? When combined with the above mentioned quote, "The rule is intended to be applied in all situations - even when a player must change uniforms due to blood or other unusual circumstances," I see very little wiggle room in this particular part of the rule.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
How do you check that? And why would you want to?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Oh, perhaps he is making a conjecture about my officiating level. In that case do two things: 1. refer to his earlier words: "Actually you have no idea what I do. You will never work with me." He sure doesn't practice what he preaches! 2. Ask him how many state championship games he has worked.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
2. So you think that longevity is the controlling factor? You state that with such certainty. How could anyone doubt it? 3. Danny Crawford works for the NBA. Although I'm not certain of the NBA regulations, it seems likely that he is not allowed to officiate HS games. So bringing up that name does not make a good point. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
He seems to think that removing a jersey falls under the same rule as pulling a jersey out of the shorts in an emotional display. Not surprisingly he is incorrect. There are separate rules which apply to each of these actions. The removal of a jersey is covered by 3-4-15, 10-3-7h, and 10-4-1h. While the unsporting display of emotionally pulling the shirt out of the shorts is governed by 10-3-7a and 10-4-1e. In the latter case it is the gesture indicating resentment, objection, or disgust that is of importance. That is certainly a discretionary area and judgment is required in deciding whether or not a technical foul should be assessed. However, in the former case, it is crystal clear that the jersey has either been physically removed or it hasn't. No judgment is required and the reason why is of no consequence. The rule simply applies under all circumstances. Two completely different situations. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The OP wrote Quote:
Now why would I cite 3-4-15? How about because that rule says, "A team member shall not remove the jersey and/or pants/skirt in the visual confines of the playing area. See 10-3-7h and 10-4-1h for penalty." Notice that the penalty for this part of the rule is a technical foul as stated in the two included references. The first part is merely the rule requiring the jersey to be worn tucked into the shorts and the penalty is that the player shall be directed to leave the game. Simply having the jersey out, or even pulling it out in a non-unsporting manner, does not result in a technical foul, rather just being sent out of the game. Casebook play 3.4.15 Sit C tells us exactly that. On the other hand if the shirt is pulled out in an unsporting manner, it is the unsporting gesture or manner that results in a T, not the jersey being out of the shorts, and that is due to a different rule (10-3-7a) as I've previously posted, but you failed to comprehend that. This seems so clear to everyone else so why are you struggling with it? Oh that's right, reading is fundamental.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Technicals? | The New Guy | Basketball | 11 | Sun Mar 19, 2006 04:11pm |
| Dodge ball breaks out in game. One or two technicals? | Jimgolf | Basketball | 6 | Sat Oct 23, 2004 03:14am |
| TECHNICALS | rburn22281 | Basketball | 7 | Fri Jun 07, 2002 01:37pm |
| Technicals | ref1bal | Basketball | 9 | Sun Mar 31, 2002 08:15pm |
| technicals | rburn22281 | Basketball | 20 | Fri Jan 18, 2002 09:03am |