The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 06, 2007, 01:27pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
What am I missing Bob?

As Bob said, you are missing the addition that was made to the rule in this year's rule book. New language was added to include a correctable error.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 06, 2007, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
As Bob said, you are missing the addition that was made to the rule in this year's rule book. New language was added to include a correctable error.
Therefore we are NOT to take into account that the correctable error could make a difference in the tie at end of regulation?
If the score was not tied and the resulting FT could create a tied game, then and only then do we shoot them immediately?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 06, 2007, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
Therefore we are NOT to take into account that the correctable error could make a difference in the tie at end of regulation?
If the score was not tied and the resulting FT could create a tied game, then and only then do we shoot them immediately?
I think you are confusing two issues:

1) You only shoot free throws at the end of regulation/OT if they "matter" in determining or potentially determining the outcome of the game.

2) Once regulation has ended, you cannot "go back" to the 4th quarter to correct an error. You correct it to begin the OT.

If the error had been discovered prior to regulation ending, then you WOULD attempt the free throw which could determine the outcome of the game. I believe the kicker here is that the error was not discovered until regulation had ended.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 06, 2007, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
As Bob said, you are missing the addition that was made to the rule in this year's rule book. New language was added to include a correctable error.
I had not noticed this before this thread. Let's put another mark in the unannounced changes column. Unfortunately, the NFHS provides no guidance whatsoever for us regarding this new change.

Therefore, I'm not sure how the new rule about correcting an error after a quarter has ended works, but I would like to point out that the ball has not yet become live in the next period. Thus there is an important rule and case play that we must consider.

5-7-4 . . . Once the ball becomes live in the extra period, it will be played even though a correction in the fourth quarter score is made.

OVERTIME CONTINUES
5.7.4 SITUATION: The score is tied at the end of regulation time. During the overtime period, the official scorer informs the referee that Team A had an additional point in the fourth quarter that was not counted. In (a), the referee reviews the scorebook and recognizes where a point was not properly credited to Team A; or (b) the referee does not have definite knowledge that a point was not credited to Team A. RULING: In (a), the referee adds a point to Team A's score. In (b), the referee does not add a point to Team A's score. In either case, the referee continues the overtime period to completion. (2-11-11)


So we know that once we start an extra period we must finish it, even if there is a scoring correction made. However, there is also a ruling that tells us not to play the extra period if the correction is made prior to its start.

2006-07 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 10: The score is tied at the end of regulation time. During the intermission between the fourth quarter and the beginning of the overtime period, the official scorer advises the referee that A1's three-point goal earlier in the fourth quarter was recorded in the scorebook improperly as a two-point goal. The referee verifies the mistake. RULING: The game is over and Team A has won. Since the ball had not yet become live in the overtime period, it need not be played. (2-11-11; 5-3; 5-7-4)

This ruling makes more sense to me. I would correct the error and not play the extra period if the score was no longer tied.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 06, 2007, 08:36pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I had not noticed this before this thread.
Me either, which is why I answered the way I did originally.

Quote:
This ruling makes more sense to me. I would correct the error and not play the extra period if the score was no longer tied.
I agree, but I can see the reasoning for doing it as part of the OT. I'll have to talk to some higher-ups around here and see what they come up with.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 06, 2007, 08:48pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
I'll have to talk to some higher-ups around here and see what they come up with.
That would be a select group, right?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 06, 2007, 09:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
That would be a select group, right?
That was low.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 06, 2007, 09:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
That was low.
That's why he said it, so it wouldn't go over some people's heads.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2007, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Let me re-phrase this to ensure I understand the ruling. Team A leads by 2 points. B1 was fouled in the act of shooting, but was sent to the line to shoot 1-and-1? B1 misses the shot, and B2 tips it in, then the buzzer sounds. The score is tied, so we go to OT. The official discovers the error, since the basket was scored, it still counts, since all awarded points prior to the correctable error count. Since B1 has earned a second free throw, it is shot as part of the OT period. Is that summary correct?

This is not really equitable, since B2 should not have been able to score a basket after the first miss. If the officials had made the correct call, B1 would have had to miss the second free throw as well if B2 were to have the opportunity to tie the game. In other words, the corrected situation is creating a score that could not have possibly happened if the FTs had been administered properly. If B1 had made the second FT, A would have had the ball and B would have presumably lost. If B1 had missed the second FT as well, B2 might have had the chance to still tip in the rebound, but there would have been no makeup FT. A bit of a hole in the correctable errors procedure, but I hope I understand the reasoning properly.
__________________
I couldn't afford a cool signature, so I just got this one.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable error or not?? VaCoach Basketball 5 Tue Feb 22, 2005 10:43am
Correctable Error MWI Basketball 5 Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:40pm
Correctable error gostars Basketball 3 Wed Feb 09, 2005 06:28am
correctable error? cardinalfan Basketball 9 Tue Jan 20, 2004 05:59pm
correctable error John Schaefferkoetter Basketball 23 Thu Jan 23, 2003 12:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1