The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2007, 08:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
I guess you have to determine: When did the violation actually occur? Could the ball ,while it was in the air on the OOB side of the line, curve back into the court? Or was it thrown at such an angle that it could have bounced in bounds, all the way down by the other end line. These are possibilities. No violation actually occured untill the ball was touched by the OOB teammate. I'd give B the ball at the spot where it was touched.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2007, 08:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankHtown
INo violation actually occured untill the ball was touched by the OOB teammate. I'd give B the ball at the spot where it was touched.
Actually, I differ with this statement, as in the OP A2 stepped OOB prior to catching the ball. As I read it, this is a direct violation of 9-2-11, as A2 is OOB prior to the throw-in ending.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2007, 08:26am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
Actually, I differ with this statement, as in the OP A2 stepped OOB prior to catching the ball. As I read it, this is a direct violation of 9-2-11, as A2 is OOB prior to the throw-in ending.
Agreed. And, even though in the OP A2 was on the same OOB line as the thrower, that is not required for this violation. The prohibition is against being OOB anywhere during a throwin.

So, change the situation to an endline throwin after a goal. A2 goes streaking down the court for a potential fast break but the pass is too long. Knowing B will get the ball under their own basket, A2 catches up to the ball before it goes OOB, but is himself OOB prior to touching the ball.

We're still going back to the spot where A1 released the pass; unless it was deflected on the way.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2007, 12:10pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Agreed. And, even though in the OP A2 was on the same OOB line as the thrower, that is not required for this violation. The prohibition is against being OOB anywhere during a throwin.

So, change the situation to an endline throwin after a goal. A2 goes streaking down the court for a potential fast break but the pass is too long. Knowing B will get the ball under their own basket, A2 catches up to the ball before it goes OOB, but is himself OOB prior to touching the ball.

We're still going back to the spot where A1 released the pass; unless it was deflected on the way.
I screwed this up. Change this to a spot throwin in the backcourt since during an end-line throwin, A2 is not restricted from being out of bounds.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2007, 08:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
Actually, I differ with this statement, as in the OP A2 stepped OOB prior to catching the ball. As I read it, this is a direct violation of 9-2-11, as A2 is OOB prior to the throw-in ending.
9-2-11??

May want to re-read that then.....A2 is not an opponent(s)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2007, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP
9-2-11??

May want to re-read that then.....A2 is not an opponent(s)
I'm gonna ask a silly question - are we reading the same 9-2-11? Because in my 07-08 Rule Book, it says:

No teammate of the thrower shall be out of bounds after a designated-spot throw-in begins.

And, maybe you're confusing with 9-2-10 which deals with an opponent of the thrower being beyond the boundary-line plane...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2007, 10:41am
PYRef
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
I'm gonna ask a silly question - are we reading the same 9-2-11? Because in my 07-08 Rule Book, it says:

No teammate of the thrower shall be out of bounds after a designated-spot throw-in begins.

And, maybe you're confusing with 9-2-10 which deals with an opponent of the thrower being beyond the boundary-line plane...

Sorry for any confusion, I referred to the '06-'07 rules book. I guess I didn't realize they change the sections as much as they do each year.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw in violation lucky1313 Basketball 3 Thu Mar 09, 2006 09:50am
Throw-In Violation Jurassic Referee Basketball 49 Mon Dec 12, 2005 11:49am
Throw in violation Rita C Basketball 13 Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:51am
Throw-in violation? illbball Basketball 3 Mon Feb 07, 2005 07:18pm
Throw In Violation?? Rock'nRef Basketball 3 Thu Nov 21, 2002 09:24am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1