![]() |
|
|
|||
FIBA Question
I know the ruling under NFHS, but have been told the ruling would be different under FIBA...but I want a second opinion. Please cite the rule if possible.
Three scenerios: 1) Player jumps to shoot (or pass). Defender gets hand on ball preventing player from releasing ball. Both come down with hand on ball. 2) Same scenerio, but defender only has hand on ball momentarily and loses contact prior to offensive player returning to the floor. Offensive player then returns to the court with the ball. 3) Same as #2, except offensive player lets go of ball while in the air and then regains ball while still in the air. Offensive player then returns to the court with the ball. What do you have? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
There's no rule saying that, after a try, you have to land before touching the ball again. Ciao |
|
|||
My thoughts.
1. Travel in FIBA, although a casebook example says that two hands on the ball by the defender would be a jump ball. 2. Travel for sure. 3. Have to see it. If the defender touches the ball and it becomes losse, no call. If the offensive player voluntarily releases the ball and catches it again, travel. My understanding is that this is not a shot but the ball becomes losse because the defender knocks the ball out of his hands. Odd Duck, if you mean something else, please clarify. PS. FIBA did produce a casebook in 2006. It is probably the only FIBA document not available on their website. I have a copy which I bought through Basketbal New Brunswick here in Canada. SmokeEater, careful; with your wording. The shot attempt does not end on the release, only team control. The act of shooting continues until both feet have returned to the ground (one foot in NCAA, not sure about NFHS?). Having said that, it has no relevance for this question. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
41. Do team control and the act of shooting both ALWAYS end at the same time? Ans. NO 4:14 & 15 4:14.3 Team control ends when: • An opponent gains control. • The ball becomes dead. • The ball has left the player's hand(s) on a shot for a field goal or for a free throw. 4:15.2 The act of shooting: • Begins when the player starts the continuous movement normally preceding the release of the ball and, in the judgement of the official, he has started an attempt to score by throwing, tapping or dunking the ball towards the opponents' basket. • Ends when the ball has left the player’s hand(s) and, in case of an airborne shooter, both feet have returned to the floor. Based on these rules is why I said what I said. Quote:
![]()
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!" All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free. |
|
|||
Quote:
OP's case #3 can be judged also a fumble, in which case there is no travel. Ciao |
|
|||
I got travel on all three situations. In #3 the player must return to the floor before securing control of the ball again. I am still looking for the reference.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!" All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free. |
|
|||
1) Player A jumps with ball and Player B blocks the shot with both hands firmly on the ball and causes Player A to return to the floor with both guys still holding ball --> JUMP BALL --> Casebook 25-4
2) Player B blocks shot by putting hands on ball but never firmly holding it causing Player A to return to floor with ball --> Travel --> Casebook 25-6 3) If ball was blocked on a shot and ball was released and then caught by the same player before he returned to the floor then NO CALL --> Casebook 25-10. If it was not on a shot then you have to decide whether or not Offensive player lost control of the ball if he did then he cannot travel --> Travel can only occur during player control
__________________
Where are my glasses I can't see the ball |
|
|||
Quote:
1) for FIBA we are being taught that firm grip means that it would take some force for one of the players to take the ball away from the other in order for that to be a held ball situation. 2) exactly the same 3) although the shot attempt has ended the player is still considered an airborne shooter until both feet are on the floor again. If the player regains control before landing again it is also a travel.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!" All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
FIBA RULES Question | SmokeEater | Basketball | 10 | Fri Jul 27, 2007 01:32pm |
Question for FIBA officials | Jimgolf | Basketball | 11 | Mon Sep 04, 2006 03:50pm |
Coming from FIBA down to ncaa, quick question. | KLeaneR | Basketball | 5 | Wed Nov 03, 2004 02:43pm |
FIBA and NF | ref18 | Basketball | 65 | Fri Aug 01, 2003 03:11pm |
Inbounds Question (FIBA rules) | SeanWorrall | Basketball | 6 | Sat Mar 23, 2002 08:54pm |