The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2002, 01:27pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
When A1 catches the ball, he has fit the definition of player control (holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds) which establishes team control for his team....

When A1 commits a different kind of violation (tipping on the way up, tipping 3 times, etc), he has not established player control, and therefore not established first team control for his team.
What if A1 "snagged" (meaning grabbed with two hands) the ball with two hands on the way up, or out of the ref's hand? That would be back to the first of your situations with the arrow and the ball going to B, right? Your answer is depending on the word "tip" in the initial sitch, right?

No it would not. A1 touched the ball on the way up and that is the violation (both NFHS and NCAA). And for our friends who officiate under FIBA rules the jump ball provisions are the same as NFHS/NCAA.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1