View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2002, 01:53pm
Mark Padgett Mark Padgett is offline
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by Brian Watson
Jump violation, same as catching it.
As one of the other Marks stated, you are incorrect. However, besides just stating the rule or case, here's the reason in plain English.

When A1 catches the ball, he has fit the definition of player control (holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds) which establishes team control for his team. That's why team B gets the ball (because of the violation) and the arrow (team A had first team control, even though the catching was a violation).

When A1 commits a different kind of violation (tipping on the way up, tipping 3 times, etc), he has not established player control, and therefore not established first team control for his team.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote