Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
When A1 catches the ball, he has fit the definition of player control (holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds) which establishes team control for his team....
When A1 commits a different kind of violation (tipping on the way up, tipping 3 times, etc), he has not established player control, and therefore not established first team control for his team.
|
What if A1 "snagged" (meaning grabbed with two hands) the ball with two hands on the way up, or out of the ref's hand? That would be back to the first of your situations with the arrow and the ball going to B, right? Your answer is depending on the word "tip" in the initial sitch, right?
|
No it would not. A1 touched the ball on the way up and that is the violation (both NFHS and NCAA). And for our friends who officiate under FIBA rules the jump ball provisions are the same as NFHS/NCAA.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|