The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 06:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 197
Send a message via Yahoo to joseph2493
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Here's the four conditions that all must be met to have a back court violation (NF rules):

1) there must be team control
2) the ball must have achieved front court status
3) the team in team control must be last to touch the ball in the front court
4) that same team must be first to touch the ball after it has been in the back court

Apply these conditions to your situation and what is your conclusion?
Well, I guess that rises the question... Does "A-2" touching the ball while having front court status (one foot down in the front court and the other in the air) cause the ball to gain front court status even if A-1 is dribbling.

If the touching on the leg gives it frontcourt status than we have a backcourt violation if not than we don't.
__________________
You can do what you want to do and be what you want to be but you can't be afraid to pay the price!

Last edited by joseph2493; Wed Oct 24, 2007 at 06:29pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 06:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by joseph2493
Well, I guess that rises the question... Does "A-2" touching the ball while having front court status (one foot down in the front court and the other in the air) cause the ball to gain front court status even if A-1 is dribbling.

If the touching on the leg gives it frontcourt status than we have a backcourt violation if not than we don't.
You are thinking correctly.

Now let's look at the rule on the status of the ball.

4-4-2 . . . A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.

Is the teammate of A1 dribbling? Nope. So the above rule applies to him.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You are thinking correctly.

Now let's look at the rule on the status of the ball.

4-4-2 . . . A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.

Is the teammate of A1 dribbling? Nope. So the above rule applies to him.
I agree with this, but isn't A1 still dribbling. If so the 3-points rule is also in effect and says the ball is in the backcourt. We have a rule that says the ball is FC and another rule saying ball is in backcourt with no rule indicating which one overrides the other.

I withdraw the issue, I have re-read the OP, and saw where the ball rebounds to backcourt. I know the dribble ends if the opponent touches the ball, is it the same if a teammate touches the ball in a dribbling situation?

Alright, I am a waffler, at least for today. The dribble hasn't ended, so we have two rules that conflict with no guidance as to which overrides the other.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)

Last edited by SamIAm; Thu Oct 25, 2007 at 10:11am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 08:47am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
If I remember correctly the rule about the ball having backcourt status ONLY applies to the dribbler. As soon as A2 touches the ball ( non-ball handler) then it superceeds the dribbler rule and the ball gains FC status. Then the over and back ruling applies.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
This is a good discussion...

I ran the play through my head and I'm inclined to say I do not call a BC violation because in my mind the ball never got FC status by 3 points of entry.

Then I read on and as posted 4-4-2 would have me second guessing my call and I think I'd be wrong for not calling it. Second player is technically in FC....I kicked it!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 09:28am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Colt,

Remember three points only applies when dribbling. Way to work it out!

I'll bet you don't kick it on the court now!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
Colt,

Remember three points only applies when dribbling. Way to work it out!

I'll bet you don't kick it on the court now!
Roger that TJ....If you don't learn or remember something new everyday...you are holding yourself back!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm
I agree with this, but isn't A1 still dribbling. If so the 3-points rule is also in effect and says the ball is in the backcourt. We have a rule that says the ball is FC and another rule saying ball is in backcourt with no rule indicating which one overrides the other.

I withdraw the issue, I have re-read the OP, and saw where the ball rebounds to backcourt. I know the dribble ends if the opponent touches the ball, is it the same if a teammate touches the ball in a dribbling situation?

Alright, I am a waffler, at least for today. The dribble hasn't ended, so we have two rules that conflict with no guidance as to which overrides the other.
Sam,
Once A2 contacts the ball an interrupted dribble occurs. The ball is temporarily not in control of A1. Therefore, the "three-points" rule (4-4-6) which only applies during a dribble, not during an interrupted dribble is not in conflict with 4-4-2 on this play.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 04:45pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I disagree. Once A2 contacts the ball, the dribble is over. Or does the new rule change only include contact by an opponent?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 05:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I disagree. Once A2 contacts the ball, the dribble is over. Or does the new rule change only include contact by an opponent?
4-15-4d The dribble ends when:
"...The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control."

Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 05:42pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
4-15-4d The dribble ends when:
"...The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control."

Yeah yeah. Just cause I don't have my book with me. I'll check when I get home.

Show off.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 06:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by joseph2493
Well, I guess that rises the question... Does "A-2" touching the ball while having front court status (one foot down in the front court and the other in the air) cause the ball to gain front court status even if A-1 is dribbling.

If the touching on the leg gives it frontcourt status than we have a backcourt violation if not than we don't.
You are correct. Since A2 is not dribbling, his/her touch doesn't benefit from the "3-points touching entirely in the frontcourt" part of ball location rule. A2 causes the ball to have the same status as his/her location merely by touching the ball. When A1 then touches the ball again, it is a backcourt violation: team A had team control, the ball gained FC status by A2's touching, A2 was the last to touch the ball before it returned to the backcourt, then A1 was the first to touch the ball after it returned to the backcourt.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 06:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 197
Send a message via Yahoo to joseph2493
Thank you both

That's where I was going but my fellow officials disagree
__________________
You can do what you want to do and be what you want to be but you can't be afraid to pay the price!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 07:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by joseph2493
That's where I was going but my fellow officials disagree
Your fellow officials are incorrect. You can tell them that I said that.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 07:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 197
Send a message via Yahoo to joseph2493
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Your fellow officials are incorrect. You can tell them that I said that.
I will tell them you said that...
__________________
You can do what you want to do and be what you want to be but you can't be afraid to pay the price!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt pforeferee Basketball 14 Mon Jan 30, 2006 01:12pm
backcourt? missinglink Basketball 8 Thu Jan 26, 2006 01:49am
Backcourt? closely_guarded Basketball 2 Wed Jan 25, 2006 07:37am
BACKCOURT OR NOT? OFISHE8 Basketball 8 Sun Dec 18, 2005 06:36pm
Backcourt runupdown Basketball 19 Sun Dec 19, 2004 10:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1