The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt or Not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39117-backcourt-not.html)

joseph2493 Wed Oct 24, 2007 06:15pm

Backcourt or Not?
 
A-1 is straddling the division line and dribbling when a teammate, who is running along side A-1 has one foot in the frontcourt and the other in the air over the division line when the ball touches him/her and rebounds into the backcourt. A-1 is the first to touch the ball. Official rules this a backcourt violation.

Is this ruling correct?:confused:

Mark Padgett Wed Oct 24, 2007 06:20pm

Here's the four conditions that all must be met to have a back court violation (NF rules):

1) there must be team control
2) the ball must have achieved front court status
3) the team in team control must be last to touch the ball in the front court
4) that same team must be first to touch the ball after it has been in the back court

Apply these conditions to your situation and what is your conclusion?

joseph2493 Wed Oct 24, 2007 06:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Here's the four conditions that all must be met to have a back court violation (NF rules):

1) there must be team control
2) the ball must have achieved front court status
3) the team in team control must be last to touch the ball in the front court
4) that same team must be first to touch the ball after it has been in the back court

Apply these conditions to your situation and what is your conclusion?

Well, I guess that rises the question... Does "A-2" touching the ball while having front court status (one foot down in the front court and the other in the air) cause the ball to gain front court status even if A-1 is dribbling.

If the touching on the leg gives it frontcourt status than we have a backcourt violation if not than we don't.

Nevadaref Wed Oct 24, 2007 06:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by joseph2493
Well, I guess that rises the question... Does "A-2" touching the ball while having front court status (one foot down in the front court and the other in the air) cause the ball to gain front court status even if A-1 is dribbling.

If the touching on the leg gives it frontcourt status than we have a backcourt violation if not than we don't.

You are thinking correctly.

Now let's look at the rule on the status of the ball.

4-4-2 . . . A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.

Is the teammate of A1 dribbling? Nope. So the above rule applies to him.

Camron Rust Wed Oct 24, 2007 06:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by joseph2493
Well, I guess that rises the question... Does "A-2" touching the ball while having front court status (one foot down in the front court and the other in the air) cause the ball to gain front court status even if A-1 is dribbling.

If the touching on the leg gives it frontcourt status than we have a backcourt violation if not than we don't.

You are correct. Since A2 is not dribbling, his/her touch doesn't benefit from the "3-points touching entirely in the frontcourt" part of ball location rule. A2 causes the ball to have the same status as his/her location merely by touching the ball. When A1 then touches the ball again, it is a backcourt violation: team A had team control, the ball gained FC status by A2's touching, A2 was the last to touch the ball before it returned to the backcourt, then A1 was the first to touch the ball after it returned to the backcourt.

joseph2493 Wed Oct 24, 2007 06:49pm

Thank you both
 
That's where I was going but my fellow officials disagree

Nevadaref Wed Oct 24, 2007 07:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by joseph2493
That's where I was going but my fellow officials disagree

Your fellow officials are incorrect. You can tell them that I said that. ;)

joseph2493 Wed Oct 24, 2007 07:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Your fellow officials are incorrect. You can tell them that I said that. ;)

I will tell them you said that...

Nevadaref Wed Oct 24, 2007 07:29pm

Even better, why don't you print out Tony's backcourt quiz and have them take it. Take it yourself too!

It is the first post in this thread:
http://forum.officiating.com/showthread.php?t=10696

SamIAm Thu Oct 25, 2007 08:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You are thinking correctly.

Now let's look at the rule on the status of the ball.

4-4-2 . . . A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.

Is the teammate of A1 dribbling? Nope. So the above rule applies to him.

I agree with this, but isn't A1 still dribbling. If so the 3-points rule is also in effect and says the ball is in the backcourt. We have a rule that says the ball is FC and another rule saying ball is in backcourt with no rule indicating which one overrides the other.

I withdraw the issue, I have re-read the OP, and saw where the ball rebounds to backcourt. I know the dribble ends if the opponent touches the ball, is it the same if a teammate touches the ball in a dribbling situation?

Alright, I am a waffler, at least for today. The dribble hasn't ended, so we have two rules that conflict with no guidance as to which overrides the other.

SmokeEater Thu Oct 25, 2007 08:47am

If I remember correctly the rule about the ball having backcourt status ONLY applies to the dribbler. As soon as A2 touches the ball ( non-ball handler) then it superceeds the dribbler rule and the ball gains FC status. Then the over and back ruling applies.

Coltdoggs Thu Oct 25, 2007 09:23am

This is a good discussion...

I ran the play through my head and I'm inclined to say I do not call a BC violation because in my mind the ball never got FC status by 3 points of entry.

Then I read on and as posted 4-4-2 would have me second guessing my call and I think I'd be wrong for not calling it. Second player is technically in FC....I kicked it! :o

tjones1 Thu Oct 25, 2007 09:28am

Colt,

Remember three points only applies when dribbling. Way to work it out!

I'll bet you don't kick it on the court now!

Coltdoggs Thu Oct 25, 2007 09:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Colt,

Remember three points only applies when dribbling. Way to work it out!

I'll bet you don't kick it on the court now!

Roger that TJ....If you don't learn or remember something new everyday...you are holding yourself back! ;)

Splute Thu Oct 25, 2007 09:42am

That was a great catch on A2. Not sure I would have been expecting that bump thus I would have had to quickly play out in my head where A2's feet were. I am picturing the ball getting knocked into the backcourt by A2 (pretty easy catch)..... where is A2 at contact (not as easy a catch).... otherwise its a loose ball and no FC status acquired.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1