The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Oct 22, 2007, 11:59pm
Official Forum Member

Pre-game conference with coaches & captains

I'm sure this has been discussed many times but with my first official HS season starting soon I'm interested in getting a few tips from the experts on what you say as the R during the coaches & captains meeting before tip-off. Do you follow to the letter of what your respective associations provide or do you tweak this according to style and points of emphasis? Not that my partners will even allow me to take the R once they know I'm a rookie, just in case. Thanks!
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 12:03am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by NURef
I'm sure this has been discussed many times but with my first official HS season starting soon I'm interested in getting a few tips from the experts on what you say as the R during the coaches & captains meeting before tip-off. Do you follow to the letter of what your respective associations provide or do you tweak this according to style and points of emphasis? Not that my partners will even allow me to take the R once they know I'm a rookie, just in case. Thanks!
Coaches -- Hi, I'm Antonia Ann, and this is my partner, Aloysius. I just need you to answer the standard two questions, are your players all legally equipped, and are you requiring them to maintain attitudes of fair play and healthy sportsmanship? Good. ANy questions? Great. Have a good game.

Captains -- Please help your teammates with their attitudes, please remeind them to remove all jewelry, clippies and barrettes. You can ask us any question politely during any dead ball. Anything else we need to discuss? Good luck, have a good game.
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 02:05am
Do not give a damn!!

Same order, different words.

The only thing I do every time is: