The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 15, 2007, 11:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to fmkjrunc
foul shots or OB?

team A has the ball in their offensive end, team A PG passes into high post, team B player cuts in front to steal ball and is fouled, this is team A 7th team foul, is team B shooting 1 & 1 or is the ball OB, thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 15, 2007, 11:35pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Team B shoots the bonus with the player that was fouled on the line.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 15, 2007, 11:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmkjrunc
team A has the ball in their offensive end, team A PG passes into high post, team B player cuts in front to steal ball and is fouled, this is team A 7th team foul, is team B shooting 1 & 1 or is the ball OB, thanks for your help.
Did the Team B player intercept the ball prior to the foul or was he only cutting in front of the opponent and trying to reach the ball when he was fouled?

If he caught the ball and then was fouled, he shoots the 1&1.

If he was fouled before establishing control, then it is a team control foul by Team A and the ball is awarded OOB to Team B.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 16, 2007, 05:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to fmkjrunc
thanks for the quick responses, when the pass was thrown, the player on team B was in front of the player on team A, team A player tried to jump over the back to get the ball, contact occured at the same time of catching of pass
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 16, 2007, 07:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmkjrunc
thanks for the quick responses, when the pass was thrown, the player on team B was in front of the player on team A, team A player tried to jump over the back to get the ball, contact occured at the same time of catching of pass
Judgemet call on this one. However, if it happen simultaneously I would shoot the bonus.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 16, 2007, 08:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmkjrunc
thanks for the quick responses, when the pass was thrown, the player on team B was in front of the player on team A, team A player tried to jump over the back to get the ball, contact occured at the same time of catching of pass
Can't happen "at the same time." The official must decide which occurred first, and administer accordingly.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 16, 2007, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Can't happen "at the same time."
I thought the tie always goes to the runner?

Anyway, if B was fouled while A was still in team control (while the pass was still in the air, for example), there are no FT's, and the ball is awarded to B for a throw-in at the spot closest to the foul. If B had intercepted the pass, team A is no longer in team control, so B will shoot the 1-and-1. But as Bob said, you do have to make the decision as to which happened first - the foul, then catch, or catch, then foul. That's why we get paid the big bucks.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 16, 2007, 10:39am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
That's why we get paid the big bucks.


Frankly, I'd rather have cash.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 16, 2007, 07:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
I thought the tie always goes to the runner?
Nope. Check your baseball rulebook.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 17, 2007, 01:13am
KSRef07
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Did the Team B player intercept the ball prior to the foul or was he only cutting in front of the opponent and trying to reach the ball when he was fouled?

If he caught the ball and then was fouled, he shoots the 1&1.

If he was fouled before establishing control, then it is a team control foul by Team A and the ball is awarded OOB to Team B.
Agree. No doubt. Correct.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 17, 2007, 06:24pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Tie To Runner ?????

From M&M Guy: "I thought the tie always goes to the runner?"

From Mark Dexter: "Nope. Check your baseball rulebook."

Mark Dexter is correct:

THE TIE RULE MYTH

There is no such thing in the world of umpiring. The runner is either out or safe. The umpire must judge out or safe. It is impossible to judge a tie. Lets look at the rules (OBR) 6.05 deals with a batter becoming a runner and 7.08 deals with a runner going to 2nd, 3rd, or Home.

6.05 A batter is out when (j) After a third strike or after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base.
Here, as it relates to time, the rule states the runner must be tagged before he touches first base. So if they were to happen at the same time, the runner would be safe because the runner was not tagged “before”.

7.08 Any runner is out when (e) He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner. Here it states that the runner must reach the base before the ball, thus a perception of time being a tie, the runner would be out.

So in conculsion, tie goes to runner at first and tie goes to fielders at the other bases.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 17, 2007, 09:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
So in conculsion, tie goes to runner at first and tie goes to fielders at the other bases.
That's incorrect. Professional instruction is that, on any force play and any play on the batter-runner at 1B, the runner must beat the ball to the base. If he doesn't, he's out. There are no ties, and 1B is no different.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 18, 2007, 01:16am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Tie goes to the umpire. A runner must beat a throw. If they do not beat a throw, they are out plain and simple.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 18, 2007, 08:59am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
From M&M Guy: "I thought the tie always goes to the runner?"

From Mark Dexter: "Nope. Check your baseball rulebook."

Mark Dexter is correct:
I'm pretty sure M&M knew this, and he was referencing an old thread.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 18, 2007, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I'm pretty sure M&M knew this, and he was referencing an old thread.
Thank you.

When it comes to baseball, for the most part I'm in BIFS: Blissfully Ignorant Fanboy Status. But I do know this - the rule about the tie going to the runner is the exactly the same as the rule about a referee preventing overtimes: it pushes some peoples' buttons.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Substitution on foul shots drinkeii Basketball 2 Sat Mar 04, 2006 07:24pm
Aministering T Foul Shots Chess Ref Basketball 16 Thu Jan 26, 2006 10:14am
Technical Foul Shots Bizket786 Basketball 8 Fri Feb 25, 2005 11:51am
2 or 3 shots - Intentional Foul hoopsrefBC Basketball 9 Sat Nov 18, 2000 10:36pm
Foul Shots Richard Kreimer Basketball 23 Thu Jan 06, 2000 12:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1