The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 08:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
ap on throw-in

Apologies if this has already been discussed, but looking at this year's NFHS exam q.3. "During an AP throw-in by A1, B2 intentionally kicks the throw-in pass. A1 will be awarded a new throw-in opportunity, but the arrow will remain pointed in the direction of A's basket". True or False?

Lets clear up the first point here, the throw-in never ended b/c the ball was not contacted legally, so for the moment the arrow will remain with A. But once A completes the inbounds resulting from the kick, do they still keep the arrow? The way the rule is written it would seem to say yes b/c the second throw-in is no longer an AP throw-in, it is the throw-in resulting from the violation (or is it still the AP throw-in b/c the AP throw-in never ended?)...BUT, this doesn't seem to make any sense that A would essentially get an extra AP on the next jump ball just because B kicked in that particular situation. I am saying F to this as far as A keeping the arrow after the inbounds following the kick, but I can't seem to find this specific case anywhere...any of you guys who can quote line & verse know where this is addressed? Thanks..
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 08:13am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Rules 6-4-4 & 4-42-5.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 08:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Thanks JR, tose are the two rules that I have reviewed that seem to be written in such a way that A would keep the AP even after the throw-in subsequent to the kick...is that how you would interpret this?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 08:42am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Yes.
And for the record, I don't like it any more than you do.
But that's the way it is.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
That just seems completely wrong doesn't it? Is this in the casebook anywhere? I don't think I have ever had this happen, has anyone? I just can't imagine walking over to the table and telling them to NOT change the arrow (because you can bet they'd get it wrong)....the opposing coach would go ballistic - I know not a reason to not do something, just trying to picture the scenario!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 08:51am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
That just seems completely wrong doesn't it? Is this in the casebook anywhere? I don't think I have ever had this happen, has anyone? I just can't imagine walking over to the table and telling them to NOT change the arrow (because you can bet they'd get it wrong)....the opposing coach would go ballistic - I know not a reason to not do something, just trying to picture the scenario!
Careful, there's only about 4 or 5 of us here that think this way.
Most seem to think if you switched the arrow, you'd be penalizing A.

The idea is that the arrow grants a team a complete throwin. Since their initial throwin doesn't get completed, they will get the next AP throwin.

Personally, I think the arrow should switch as soon as the thrower is handed the ball. But, the NFHS rules committee disagrees with me, so I digress.

As far as coaches and the table; a quick explanation will suffice. Unless the coach is a real howler, he'll accept it if you tell him why you're doing it. Again, a short explanation will work.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where is the Throw-in? Zoochy Basketball 29 Thu Nov 16, 2006 08:31pm
Throw-In Derrick Basketball 1 Wed Nov 23, 2005 08:10am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
throw in rburn22281 Basketball 4 Tue Mar 26, 2002 10:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1