![]() |
ap on throw-in
Apologies if this has already been discussed, but looking at this year's NFHS exam q.3. "During an AP throw-in by A1, B2 intentionally kicks the throw-in pass. A1 will be awarded a new throw-in opportunity, but the arrow will remain pointed in the direction of A's basket". True or False?
Lets clear up the first point here, the throw-in never ended b/c the ball was not contacted legally, so for the moment the arrow will remain with A. But once A completes the inbounds resulting from the kick, do they still keep the arrow? The way the rule is written it would seem to say yes b/c the second throw-in is no longer an AP throw-in, it is the throw-in resulting from the violation (or is it still the AP throw-in b/c the AP throw-in never ended?)...BUT, this doesn't seem to make any sense that A would essentially get an extra AP on the next jump ball just because B kicked in that particular situation. I am saying F to this as far as A keeping the arrow after the inbounds following the kick, but I can't seem to find this specific case anywhere...any of you guys who can quote line & verse know where this is addressed? Thanks.. |
Rules 6-4-4 & 4-42-5.
|
Thanks JR, tose are the two rules that I have reviewed that seem to be written in such a way that A would keep the AP even after the throw-in subsequent to the kick...is that how you would interpret this?
|
Yes.
And for the record, I don't like it any more than you do. But that's the way it is. |
That just seems completely wrong doesn't it? Is this in the casebook anywhere? I don't think I have ever had this happen, has anyone? I just can't imagine walking over to the table and telling them to NOT change the arrow (because you can bet they'd get it wrong)....the opposing coach would go ballistic - I know not a reason to not do something, just trying to picture the scenario!
|
Quote:
Most seem to think if you switched the arrow, you'd be penalizing A. The idea is that the arrow grants a team a complete throwin. Since their initial throwin doesn't get completed, they will get the next AP throwin. Personally, I think the arrow should switch as soon as the thrower is handed the ball. But, the NFHS rules committee disagrees with me, so I digress. As far as coaches and the table; a quick explanation will suffice. Unless the coach is a real howler, he'll accept it if you tell him why you're doing it. Again, a short explanation will work. |
Quote:
And, kbilla, be sure you check the arrow after that second throw in, to be sure the table DOESN"T switch the arrow. It's even harder to explain a minute and a half down the road. |
I guess I see that in the letter of the rule, but A was awarded the AP throw-in as the result of a jump-ball. That gives them the right to posession, which they still have after the kick....now you are basically giving the right to the NEXT posession following a jump ball just because B kicked...seems like a pretty stiff penalty on B for something as innocuous as a kick...
Would like to see this specific case excluded personally... |
Quote:
|
Quote:
"But, ref, they used that arrow for the second throw-in, didn't they?" (loosely paraphrasing for comprehension) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Granted, we have to get it right, but I'm not going to worry about it if Team A gets 6 "arrows" to B's 5, when it should have been 5 for A and 6 for B. Out of what, 50 or more total posessions a game? Hey, it's better than an old fashioned jump ball, anyhow. |
Hartsy I somewhat agree with you as far as over the course of the game, but if you come down to the last 2 mins in a close game the arrow is extremely important...I'd hate to have to apply this rule in that case, but I just hate this rule in general I guess...
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15pm. |