The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 20, 2007, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
Clarification of foul count

Sitch - It appears a fight may occur on the playing court when A6 and A7 leave their bench.
Ruling: The two players leaving the bench are assessed flagrant fouls and disqualified, and Team A's head coach is assessed a maximum of one indirect technical foul (regardless of the number of players leaving the bench).

So, I understand that Team B is awarded two free throws and the ball for a division line throw-in, but how many fouls are applied to the books. I think that in this case it would be…
*One T-foul added to A6
*One T-foul added to A7
*One indirect added to A Coach
*Two Team fouls added to Team A’s total foul count.

Do I have this right or would it be three total team fouls because of the indirect applied to the coach? Do we ever count the indirect to a coach to the team foul total?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 20, 2007, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinski
Sitch - It appears a fight may occur on the playing court when A6 and A7 leave their bench.
Ruling: The two players leaving the bench are assessed flagrant fouls and disqualified, and Team A's head coach is assessed a maximum of one indirect technical foul (regardless of the number of players leaving the bench).

So, I understand that Team B is awarded two free throws and the ball for a division line throw-in, but how many fouls are applied to the books. I think that in this case it would be…
*One T-foul added to A6
*One T-foul added to A7
*One indirect added to A Coach
*Two Team fouls added to Team A’s total foul count.

Do I have this right
Yes

Quote:
or would it be three total team fouls because of the indirect applied to the coach? Do we ever count the indirect to a coach to the team foul total?
No. No.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 20, 2007, 11:49am
Tio Tio is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 463
Are we talking NFHS or NCAA? In the NCAA, both players would be ejected for leaving the bench but not participating in a fight. No free throws are shot no team fouls added. Nothing assessed to head coach.

If the players participate in a fight, they receive a flagrant tech. (with free throws) and ejection.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 20, 2007, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Orion, MI
Posts: 152
I want to make sure I have this straight...A6 & A7 leave the bench and the coach is assessed one indirect tech. A6 & A7 are disqualified and two team fouls are assessed.

Now...if there is a fight on the floor between A2 & B2...then A6 & A7 enter the court and join in the fight...A2, B2, A6, & A7 are disqualified...team A coach is assessed TWO indirect technical fouls because A6 & A7 participated in the fight. Offsetting fouls for A2 & B2, no FT's, three team fouls assessed to team A and one to team B. 4 FT's awarded to team B for flagrant tech fouls by A6 & A7 and is awarded the ball at the division line opposite the table.

Is this correct?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 20, 2007, 02:13pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,539
Keep it simple. If all 10 bench players came off the bench for a fight, the head coach only gets one indirect (during the same fight) which would result in only 1 Technical foul overall. And all 10 bench players are ejected from the game as well.

This was changed a few years ago.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 20, 2007, 02:29pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
Keep it simple. If all 10 bench players came off the bench for a fight, the head coach only gets one indirect (during the same fight) which would result in only 1 Technical foul overall. And all 10 bench players are ejected from the game as well.

This was changed a few years ago.

Peace
True....only if all 10 bench players don't fight. If they do fight, the head coach gets an indirect "T" for each of those bench players who fight. No matter what, every player who comes off the bench gets charged with a flagrant "T", whether they fight or not.

There is only one technical foul penalty administered for all of the players on each team who don't fight, but they all each still get charged with flagrant technical fouls.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Sep 20, 2007 at 02:34pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Even up the foul count? Cager ref 1989 Basketball 7 Fri Dec 30, 2005 11:23pm
Double foul on throw-in clarification blindzebra Basketball 2 Thu Dec 08, 2005 01:15pm
Foul Count refnrev Basketball 27 Sun Jan 23, 2005 08:31pm
Player Control Foul Clarification Smitty Basketball 2 Mon Nov 08, 2004 04:19pm
Foul Count. JRutledge Basketball 8 Thu Jan 04, 2001 06:02pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1