The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 13, 2002, 01:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
4.43.5 SITUATION A: Is it traveling if A1 falls to the floor: (a) while holding the ball; or (b) after being airborne to catch a pass or control a rebound? Ruling: Yes in both (a) and (b).

Quote:
Originally posted by crew
i disagree, though i see your point. think about a player that dives for the ball catches it hits the ground and slides 5 ft. this is not a travel(momentum rule). when big guys go up for a rebound it is very difficult at times to land on 2 ft. i give the rebounder the benifit of the doubt. especially when his feet did not hit the ground first.

bsktballref-i might be taking your ruling out of context-but from what you wrote a player lying on the ground then obtains the ball would be traveling.
You officiate D1 basketball and you don't know that a rebounder travels when he catches the ball in flight and then falls to the floor?

That is un****ing believable!

A player diving for a ball or a player who gains possession while in the floor are completely different situations than the scenario presented. The original post is traveling in the NF and the NCAA.

Do you own a rule book?
who would have guessed you would say that!
__________________
tony
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1