The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 10, 2002, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by APHP
96-97, 97-98, 98-99, 99-00, 00-01 Basketball Casebook Plus (sometimes called the Officials Guide) is Published and sold by Referee Magazine & NASO and written by George Demetriou, Bill Topp & Steve Ellington.

Immediately below this is the following caseplay:
Quote---"As A1 releases the ball, B3 reaches across the boundary-line plane and bats the ball into A's feet. Ruling: FED: Legal play. A1 has violated by being the first player to touch the ball out-of-bounds; team B's ball for a throw-in."

Trust Me (ChuckElias) Coach.
Well, that's the first time I've ever seen that interpretation in writing, I have to admit. However, I notice that it doesn't come from NFHS. It comes from NASO and Referee Magazine. Would anyone care to comment on the accuracy of Referee Magazine's rules interpretations in the past?

Additionally, I simply don't think that the interpretation is supported by the rules. It's ok for the defense to touch the ball while it's still OOB, but it's not ok for the offense to do it? I don't buy it.

Chuck
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1