View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 10, 2002, 01:44pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by APHP
96-97, 97-98, 98-99, 99-00, 00-01 Basketball Casebook Plus (sometimes called the Officials Guide) is Published and sold by Referee Magazine & NASO and written by George Demetriou, Bill Topp & Steve Ellington.

Immediately below this is the following caseplay:
Quote---"As A1 releases the ball, B3 reaches across the boundary-line plane and bats the ball into A's feet. Ruling: FED: Legal play. A1 has violated by being the first player to touch the ball out-of-bounds; team B's ball for a throw-in."

Trust Me (ChuckElias) Coach.
Well, that's the first time I've ever seen that interpretation in writing, I have to admit. However, I notice that it doesn't come from NFHS. It comes from NASO and Referee Magazine. Would anyone care to comment on the accuracy of Referee Magazine's rules interpretations in the past?

Additionally, I simply don't think that the interpretation is supported by the rules. It's ok for the defense to touch the ball while it's still OOB, but it's not ok for the offense to do it? I don't buy it.

Chuck
Reply With Quote