The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 15, 2007, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 377
Happened in a pick-up game

A1 ends his dribble by picking up the ball. He starts a baseball pass to A2 but stops himself in the wind up, causing the ball to go 10 feet straight up in the air. He catches the ball without moving his feet.

Has he violated? If not, can he choose either foot as his pivot or must his original before-pass pivot still be used?
__________________
Luther
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 15, 2007, 02:34pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrpalmer3
A1 ends his dribble by picking up the ball. He starts a baseball pass to A2 but stops himself in the wind up, causing the ball to go 10 feet straight up in the air. He catches the ball without moving his feet.

Has he violated? If not, can he choose either foot as his pivot or must his original before-pass pivot still be used?
No violation. His original pivot foot remains the pivot foot.

Same as casebook play 4.15.4SitE(a).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 15, 2007, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
1) what's the call if he catches his own pass?
2) while moving what if a player goes to pass and fumbles/muffs the attempt and then gathers it and comes to a stop?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 15, 2007, 04:07pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
1) what's the call if he catches his own pass?
2) while moving what if a player goes to pass and fumbles/muffs the attempt and then gathers it and comes to a stop?
It's impossible to answer either of these questions without knowing the movement of the pivot foot during the actions.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 15, 2007, 07:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrpalmer3
A1 ends his dribble by picking up the ball. He starts a baseball pass to A2 but stops himself in the wind up, causing the ball to go 10 feet straight up in the air. He catches the ball without moving his feet.

Has he violated? If not, can he choose either foot as his pivot or must his original before-pass pivot still be used?
If you deem that the toss up in the air and subsequent catching was a controlled movement, then the player must adhere to his original pivot restriction. The casebook play JR pointed out governs the situation.

However, if you judge that the player lost control during the pass and was merely fortunate to recover the ball, then the fumble rule would come into play and the player may do whatever is legal after recovering a fumble. In this case, he may pivot with either foot, but may not dribble a second time.

So it is a judgment call.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 15, 2007, 07:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
1) what's the call if he catches his own pass?
If the player does not move his pivot foot, then no violation has occurred.

If the player moves his pivot and the ball did not strike the floor, then an illegal dribble violation has occurred per the already cited 4.15.4 SitE.

If the player moves his pivot and the ball was allowed to strike the floor on the "pass", the "pass" becomes a dribble because it meets the definition of such. In this case, since the player has already dribbled, a second dribble violation would occur. This is per a past Interp issued by the NFHS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
2) while moving what if a player goes to pass and fumbles/muffs the attempt and then gathers it and comes to a stop?
If there is no player control, then there cannot be a traveling violation. The player is allowed to recover a fumble and pivot foot movement doesn't matter while doing so. If the player did not do anything illegal AFTER recovering the ball, then no violation occurred on the play.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 16, 2007, 01:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
That was a bit confusing. sorry.

1) Player picks up drrible and goes to pass but the ball slips and flies in the air ... the player moves to catch ... what is the call?

2) Player has already dribble and picked up dribble. Player goes to make a chest pass but ball is fumbled and drops to the floor just in front of the player .. .can the player leagally recover?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 16, 2007, 07:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
That was a bit confusing. sorry.

1) Player picks up drrible and goes to pass but the ball slips and flies in the air ... the player moves to catch ... what is the call?

2) Player has already dribble and picked up dribble. Player goes to make a chest pass but ball is fumbled and drops to the floor just in front of the player .. .can the player leagally recover?
The answer to both questions is: A player can always recover a fumble.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No pick off at second eureka25 Baseball 2 Mon Jun 04, 2007 09:33am
Pick up game dispute regarding block/charge/no call ATXCoach Basketball 12 Fri Nov 10, 2006 08:02pm
Whatever happened to "Whatever happened to class"? UmpJM Baseball 7 Sat Jul 30, 2005 03:49pm
If you could pick.... Snake~eyes Basketball 20 Sat Jul 09, 2005 09:01am
Travelling (pick up game)??? ijhutch Basketball 7 Fri Mar 04, 2005 01:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1