![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
And while a technical foul can be charged during a live ball, one cannot be charged for CONTACT during a live ball. That is the point that JR is making to you. If there had NOT been any CONTACT on the play, then you could have assessed a T, but with CONTACT a technical foul is not permissible by rule in that situation. |
Here's the right way to do it. This is what JR is telling you. Get it now?
Quote:
|
Quote:
You don't have a clue what a flagrant foul is either, do you? :rolleyes: There are flagrant <b>personal</b> fouls and there are flagrant <b>technical</b> fouls. Real officials know that. Real officials also know the difference. Real officials know when to call them also. RecLeague warriors don't know the rules. And they don't care either because...well....all they work are rec leagues. Who writes up rec league officials? Am I surprised that you called a technical foul for live-ball contact, JMO? Not in the least! Am I surprised that you don't know what a flagrant foul is either? Not in the least! I would have been very surprised though if you had got it right. |
Quote:
NevadaRef: The year that this game was played was two years before the rule was changed to what it is now. At the time of the game in question the Rule and Casebook Play prohibited the wearing of casts period. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
Old School: Illegal contact WHILE THE BALL IS LIVE is a PERSONAL foul, NOT a TECHNICAL foul. Read Rule 4 in both the NFHS and NCAA rules books. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Besides the fact I didn't believe the story and was sorry if it was actually true, we couldn't let her cheer. Turned out this was the best thing that happened to her as she got the message and kept her grades up the rest of the year. I wish all student-athletes would get the hint. As an aside...(some) cheer moms are a different breed. |
Quote:
Silly Master Monkey |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Silly monkey.... |
Quote:
How can it be a good call when there was <freaking</b> contact involved? And if you want to involve "fighting", then you'd better be throwing <b>two</b> players out also. It's not a matter of slamming somebody. It's trying to get the rules <b>right</b> for all those that read this site. Methinks you need to learn the basics also. Posts like yours don't help when it comes to the teaching side of this forum. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
You didn't "upgrade" squat. You made a call that the rules say can't be made. That's because you don't <b>know</b> the rules. The rules references for the non-silly monkeys that actually own rule books are NFHS rule 4-19-1 and 4-19-5b&c. |
Quote:
If you want to say that the call that was made by Old School was a good call, even though that call was completely wrong by rule, hey, be my guest. Don't let the fact that some other rules-knowledgeable guys like Nevada and MTD Sr. disagree completely with you also. Don't get bent out of shape though when it gets pointed out that you are as wrong as Old School was. Some answers aren't "opinions". They are either right or wrong according to the written rules. This particular one is a no-brainer. You can't call a technical foul for the live-ball contact as described, no matter what you and Old school think. And insisting that you can do so without any rules backing at all is ludicrous. Officiating isn't objective when you call something that the rules won't allow to be called. You can't make up your own rules, believe it or not. Jmo......like it or not. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55am. |