The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 09, 2007, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Gee, wouldn't you put some time back on the clock?

You know where you're going, right?

Oh, wait, I see by your location you're already there.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 09, 2007, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Shanghai, China
Posts: 118
Smile

While the horn is going A1 fouled B1 with the score @ 68-70, and if B1 scored both free throws making the score 70-70.(So were going to overtime right??)
But while B1 is shooting, A2 fouls B3, and now B3 is shooting. If B3 only makes one shot and the score is 71-70....are we still going to overtime????

I guess that A2's foul to B3 was like unsportsmanlike/disqualifying foul. If it was, let's put it aside at this moment and focus on B1's free throws. According to the FIBA rules, There'll be two results, but A2's flagrant behavior would be noted at the back of the scoresheet by the referee and the case shall be reported to the organizer by the commissioner within an hour in both situations below:

1. B1 missed one or both free throws, the game ended and team A winned. (A2's flagrant behavior would be noted at the back of the scoresheet by the referee and the case shall be reported to the organizer by the commissioner within an hour)

2. B1 made both free throws. Game ended by a tie. Since A2's flagrant behavior happened after the signal, and the game was not finished because B1 made both free throws, his unsportsmanlike/disqualifying/technical foul was then called and it was treated as a foul at an interval. Let's just say A2's foul was a technical foul (two free throws and a center-line throw-in), then team B will have two free throws and a center-line throw-in, the team which was supposed to have the throw-in following the alternating possession at the beginning of the extra period does not lose its next possession for a jumpball situation (the arrow does not change).
__________________
-- Luis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 09, 2007, 10:55am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
You know where you're going, right?

Oh, wait, I see by your location you're already there.
I thought that I'd save everybody the trouble.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule Interpretation, please. gdc25 Softball 5 Mon Apr 10, 2006 11:50am
Need a Rule Interpretation Blu_IN Softball 29 Mon Nov 07, 2005 06:11pm
I would like your interpretation of this rule drumbum565 Baseball 37 Thu Jun 23, 2005 04:12pm
Rule Interpretation? officialtony Volleyball 2 Mon Oct 18, 2004 01:48pm
Rule Interpretation Please! His High Holiness Baseball 7 Tue Jun 17, 2003 01:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1