Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
First, the AP grants you possession. It does not or should not guarantee you a successful throw-in. If there’s a violation of the throw-in, you don’t lose the ball anyway. You are now on to something else, like another spot throw-in. AP is now done.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF
Under NFHS there is NO TEAM CONTROL ON A THROW IN - so there is no possession.
|
Careful now OHBBREF...lest you wander down the OS path.
Possession and Team Control are not one and the same. In fact, a team has possession before they have team control. Take a look at the correctable error rules/cases to see what I mean. A team's
possession generally begins the moment an infraction or goal (by the opposite team) occurs or when a team gains control of a ball from a steal/rebound/etc.