![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Well, I guess am not in the camp of giving a "complete" throw in. I would think that the team receiving the throw in got the "advantage" or the "reward" of the AP arrow when the ball was not given to team B for a throw in to begin with.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
That logic makes no sense at all. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Answer: a throw-in for the other team. The AP is a non-factor. Changing the arrow is not part of the kicked-ball penalty. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
BTW folks, the word is SENSE, NOT SINCE! "That doesn't make any SENSE!" Not "That doesn't make any SINCE!" Good grief!
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Team A has an AP throw-in. The throw-in starts when the ball is at the disposal of A1.
The OP has the throw-in immediately kicked by B1. This tells us that the first throw-in did not end, since the ball was not legally touched by another player (rule change) 4-42-5. More specifically, 6-4-4 says that "The direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw-in ends. An alternating possession throw-in ends when the throw-in ends or when the throw-in team violates." Neither of these happened, so the AP throw-in hasn't ended. When the next throw-in is completed, the arrow should switch. We also have to look at 6-4-5 which states, "The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates. If either team fouls during an alternating-possession throw-in, it does not cause the throw-in team to lose the possession arrow." This tells us to switch the arrow is the throw-in team violates, not to switch for a foul by either team, but doesn't instruct in the case of a defensive team violation. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
BktBallRef is gonna give it a shot now, but it doesn't look good. .
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
just a thought
AP throw in by team A KICKED BY B1. ap throw in never ended. Arrow stays for A. Another AP throwin by A legally touched. Now arrow is switched to B.
basicly, kick is like the orginal throwin never happened. I THINK THIS IS LIKE A KICK BALL NOT GIVING UP THE RIGHT TO RUN THE BASELINE. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
I'm not saying I am completely right, but there is nothing in the rules that say that the a defensive violation on the throw-in cause the arrow to not switch. It mentions fouls and offensive violations, but not defensive violations. Why can't the next throw-in also be an AP throw-in? 6-4-5: "The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates. If either team fouls during an alternating-possession throw-in, it does not cause the throw-in team to lose the possession arrow." Since none of these happened and the original throw-in has not ended, the opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in still exists. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Here's one even better. SINCE some (o/s) on this forum never read a rule book, it makes no SENSE for them to post on this discussion board. I had to get that out.. Now I'll continue on to page 3 of this thread.
|
|
|||
|
I find it hard to believe that some of us would actually think that a violating team is being penalized for an intentional act such as kicking a ball. Like the most have stated already. The AP throw-in was not "legally" completed thus the arrow should not be switched. my 2 cents
__________________
truerookie |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Throw in rule reference | MikeCapps | Basketball | 9 | Wed Feb 14, 2007 03:19am |
| Throw In Rule? | refnrev | Soccer | 7 | Sat Oct 21, 2006 08:33am |
| throw-in rule after an intentional foul | RefLarry | Basketball | 4 | Sat Nov 05, 2005 05:06am |
| Over Throw Rule ASA | SB22 | Softball | 19 | Fri Aug 13, 2004 04:16pm |
| Free Throw Rule | Tom g | Basketball | 4 | Wed Jan 17, 2001 02:32pm |