![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
Here is a scenario. Please comment on whether this is the way this rule is to be interpreted. Team A has a AP throw in. The thrower releases the pass and a member to team B kicks the pass. Team B is called for the kicking violation and team A is given a spot throw in for the violation.
So a kicking violation by Team B on an AP throw-in results in a spot throw-in... doesn't that put Team A at a disadvantage?? Team A now successfully completes the throw in pass. During play a held ball occurs. Team A gets the throw in due to the AP arrow since their original AP throw in never ended. Shouldn't the arrow switch to Team B after the A's successful throw-in is complete? Help me out.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Does that make sense?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
(That and actually trying to get work done at the same time...sheesh...)
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
I agree with M&M's interpretation of the rule, but I wonder about the rule's logic...
Assume that before the throw in Team B had the ball and B1 was involved in a jump ball situation. Team A is awarded the throw in on the AP, so Team B has now lost possession. In the OP, Team B then kicks the ball on the throw in, so the rule gives Team A the throw in because of the kick (not because of the jump ball) and leaves the AP arrow with Team A. If Team B has another jump ball on the their next possession, they lose the ball again on the AP. What is the logic in giving Team A the AP possession twice in a row in this type of situation? |
|
|||
|
Ohhh okay, now I get it!
After the kicking violation on B, it is no longer an AP throw-in for A, it's a throw-in for that violation. Thus the next time we go to the AP it remains with Team A since they never used it. That makes since... Even though B can lose the AP twice in a row, it their own fault for kicking the ball. That's the ticket
|
|
|||
|
So if Team B reaches for the ball on the throw in, touches it with his/her hand, and then it drops and is kicked by Team B, the AP arrow changes? I still don't see the reason to differentiate between a violation that occurs as the first thing to happen after the throw in and one that occurs after the ball is "legally touched". Any comments?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
That's why the discussion before this was interesting - on a kick, would the ball be legally touched (for a fraction of a second), then the violation? Or is the kick a violation immediately? We now know it's a violation immediately.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Throw in rule reference | MikeCapps | Basketball | 9 | Wed Feb 14, 2007 03:19am |
| Throw In Rule? | refnrev | Soccer | 7 | Sat Oct 21, 2006 08:33am |
| throw-in rule after an intentional foul | RefLarry | Basketball | 4 | Sat Nov 05, 2005 05:06am |
| Over Throw Rule ASA | SB22 | Softball | 19 | Fri Aug 13, 2004 04:16pm |
| Free Throw Rule | Tom g | Basketball | 4 | Wed Jan 17, 2001 02:32pm |