The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF
I agree you can Fumble the ball and go get it and pass it in bounds - however it can not be a pass.
Hmmm...

There's a case where A1 throws the ball in the direction of a teammate. the teammate isn't looking and moves away. A1 moves and recovers the ball after it hits the floor. The ruling is that this is a dribble.

Why wouldn't the same concept apply on the OP (except we couldn't call it a dribble, of course)?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 02:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Hmmm...

There's a case where A1 throws the ball in the direction of a teammate. the teammate isn't looking and moves away. A1 moves and recovers the ball after it hits the floor. The ruling is that this is a dribble.

Why wouldn't the same concept apply on the OP (except we couldn't call it a dribble, of course)?
Of course this is never a pass because as I mentioned a pass is defined as moving the ball from 1 player to another. No such thing as a "self pass", no such thing as a travel or dribble violation during a throw-in, it's all perfectly legal unless you violate by coming inbounds & stepping back out with or without the ball. The AR under discussion covers the second of these 2 cases.

There's really no need to bring in other rules, it's all self consistent IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 05:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
... it's all self consistent IMO.
It's not even consistent with the NCAA rules. That is the point JR is making.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 06:35pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Then I can assume that it is safe to say that anybody who really has a good knowledge of the NFHS and NCAA rules realizes that A.R. 155 is poorly worded and only applies to the part where A1 steps inbounds. AND that is not a violation for A1 to release the ball along the endline on the out of bounds side of the endline and recover it before it touches a teammate out of bounds along the endline.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 06:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Then I can assume that it is safe to say that anybody who really has a good knowledge of the NFHS and NCAA rules realizes that A.R. 155 is poorly worded and only applies to the part where A1 steps inbounds. AND that is not a violation for A1 to release the ball along the endline on the out of bounds side of the endline and recover it before it touches a teammate out of bounds along the endline.

MTD, Sr.
Nope, the A.R. specifically says that the violation is for not throwing the pass TO A TEAMMATE as well as failing to pass the ball directly inbounds. The ruling part of the A.R. makes no mention of the player returning OOB after stepping inbounds.
The way it is written it is plain as day that that is what the NCAA is saying.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 08:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Nope, the A.R. specifically says that the violation is for not throwing the pass TO A TEAMMATE...
...is there any other type of pass?

Well, maybe a pass to an opponent, but an opponent is not allowed to go beyond the endline in this play.

Anxiously awaiting your reply.

(Although it really doesn't make a difference. :shrug: )
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 11:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
...is there any other type of pass?

Well, maybe a pass to an opponent, but an opponent is not allowed to go beyond the endline in this play.

Anxiously awaiting your reply.

(Although it really doesn't make a difference. :shrug: )
1. I think that the NCAA A.R. is stupid and don't agree with it.
2. The NCAA A.R. is what carries the weight, not my opinion, not your's, not JR's.
3. I can only read what the NCAA wrote and it quite clearly says what the violation is for. If you don't like it, you will have to take up the issue with whomever wrote the A.R.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 08:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Then I can assume that it is safe to say that anybody who really has a good knowledge of the NFHS and NCAA rules realizes that A.R. 155 is poorly worded and only applies to the part where A1 steps inbounds. AND that is not a violation for A1 to release the ball along the endline on the out of bounds side of the endline and recover it before it touches a teammate out of bounds along the endline.

MTD, Sr.
Yes. Good assumption.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 06, 2007, 01:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Ok, in that case you are going to have to help me understand your position better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Then I can assume that it is safe to say that anybody who really has a good knowledge of the NFHS and NCAA rules realizes that A.R. 155 is poorly worded and only applies to the part where A1 steps inbounds.
Are you saying that you agree that stepping inbounds while not holding the ball during an endline throw-in and then going back OOB and touching the ball again is a violation? What rule is being broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
AND that is not a violation for A1 to release the ball along the endline on the out of bounds side of the endline and recover it before it touches a teammate out of bounds along the endline.
While I concur that this action SHOULD not be a violation, the NCAA A.R. clearly states that it is (if the release was a pass and not a fumble). Are you agreeing with MTD that this IS not a violation or are you saying that the A.R. is silly and it SHOULD not be a violation?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 06, 2007, 05:44am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Ok, in that case you are going to have to help me understand your position better.

I'm saying that the NCAA AR has got absolutely nothing to do with the play being discussed in the original post. The AR is neither relevant or germane. Apples and horse doodoo. The play in the original post is legal, under both NCAA and NFHS rules. Iow I don't agree with you that the AR has any relation at all with regards to the legality of what happened in the original post.

The AR discusses a unique situation--i.e. the thrower stepping in bounds and then back OOB while the ball is loose OOB- and then gives a ruling on that unique situation without really giving any reason why that particular unique situation is a violation. See Dan's post #4. MTD explained it further.

Quite simply, imo you're trying to apply an AR that isn't applicable. Understand now?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 06, 2007, 06:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I'm saying that the NCAA AR has got absolutely nothing to do with the play being discussed in the original post. The AR is neither relevant or germane. Apples and horse doodoo. The play in the original post is legal, under both NCAA and NFHS rules. Iow I don't agree with you that the AR has any relation at all with regards to the legality of what happened in the original post.

The AR discusses a unique situation--i.e. the thrower stepping in bounds and then back OOB while the ball is loose OOB- and then gives a ruling on that unique situation without really giving any reason why that particular unique situation is a violation. See Dan's post #4. MTD explained it further.

Quite simply, imo you're trying to apply an AR that isn't applicable. Understand now?
So for you the single controlling element is that the thrower stepped inbounds and then returned OOB before making the throw-in pass. Interesting take. I don't agree with it, but it is interesting.

As for Dan's post #4, where can I find the provision that says that the thrower cannot step inbounds WITHOUT THE BALL and then return OOB to make a throw-in pass? As far as I know that isn't a rule.

What is your take on these two plays? Is either one a violation?

a) A1 and A2 are both OOB during a throw-in following a made goal and A1 has with the ball. A1 passes the ball to A2 and then A1 steps inbounds. A2 is unable to find an open teammate, so A1 returns OOB and A2 passes the ball back to him and A1 is able to release the ball on a throw-in pass directly into the court prior to the expiration of the five second count.

b) Following a made goal A1 has the ball OOB for the throw-in. A1 places the ball down on the floor OOB and then runs inbounds. He sees that no teammate is going for the ball, so he returns OOB, picks up the ball and completes a throw-in pass in under five seconds.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 08:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
It's not even consistent with the NCAA rules. That is the point JR is making.
JR? Two points on JR:

1. Screw him

2. He's referencing NFHS rules, not NCAA rules

oh yeah, a third point

3. Screw him
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 06, 2007, 01:12am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
JR? Two points on JR:

1. Screw him

2. He's referencing NFHS rules, not NCAA rules

oh yeah, a third point

3. Screw him
1)

2) Yeah, and Imo the NCAA AR isn't relevant or germane, and it doesn't say what Nevada thinks that it says anyway. Fwiw, I agree with MTD Sr.

3) Have you ever thought of having a short one instead?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 06, 2007, 01:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Fwiw, I agree with MTD Sr.
What exactly of MTD's do you agree with? What he wrote in post #7 or post #31? Could you quote the specific part?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 06, 2007, 01:22am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
What exactly of MTD's do you agree with? What he wrote in post #7 or post #31? Could you quote the specific part?
Post #31.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw in violation Rita C Basketball 13 Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:51am
Throw in violation? Rick Durkee Basketball 6 Fri Jan 21, 2005 12:33pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Throw In Violation?? Rock'nRef Basketball 3 Thu Nov 21, 2002 09:24am
Throw in violation Bchill24 Basketball 16 Thu Dec 06, 2001 06:57pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1