The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 09:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 112
Traveling?

Two players from the same team simultaneously are holding the ball. While both are in possession one of the players takes a step. Is that an automatic travel or is it considered the pivot foot for both of them?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 09:56am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,396
There's no travel unless one of them actually travels (lifts the pivot foot and then returns it to the floor; or drags the pivot foot).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
There's no travel unless one of them actually travels (lifts the pivot foot and then returns it to the floor; or drags the pivot foot).
How about if one travels and the other one doesn't .... who takes precedence?
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 12:38pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalreff
How about if one travels and the other one doesn't .... who takes precedence?
The violation. Only one must travel for the violation to be called. The rules state what a player may or may not do with the ball, and they don't give an exception for when another player is holding the ball at the same time.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 112
So it is legal for one of the two players to use a pivot foot correct?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by mu4scott
So it is legal for one of the two players to use a pivot foot correct?
Better said: it's a violation if either of the 2 players violate the travel rule.

There is no special rule that prevents *either* from legal foot movement.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 01:03pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Each player may use his pivot foot. The traveling rule applies to any player with the ball, no changes are made if a second player has the ball also. Each player may move as if he is the only one holding the ball.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 112
Perfect... Thank you all.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 06:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,789
Here is the NFHS case book play on this.

4.44.2 SITUATION B: Airborne A1 and A2 jointly grab the rebound and each alights simultaneously on both feet. A1 and A2 each move one foot in attempting to wrestle the ball from each other before realizing they are teammates. A1 lets go and A2 dribbles away. RULING: Legal. There has been no violation as neither A1 or A2 moved their pivot foot while they were in joint control.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 31, 2007, 05:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 242
Quote:
No there is no travelling violation because there is no clear possession of the ball.
I believe the rules would support that they are BOTH in control of the ball. Therefore, either may be guilty of a travelling violation.

If simultaneous possession meant that travelling could't be called, teams would have two players hold onto the ball as they ran down that floor, wouldn't they?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 31, 2007, 06:50am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser
I believe the rules would support that they are BOTH in control of the ball. Therefore, either may be guilty of a travelling violation.

If simultaneous possession meant that travelling could't be called, teams would have two players hold onto the ball as they ran down that floor, wouldn't they?
Of course, you're correct. The post that you commented on was deleted by a mod. The only purpose of the post was to include a spam link. It's an old trick of spammers.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 31, 2007, 07:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser
If simultaneous possession meant that travelling could't be called, teams would have two players hold onto the ball as they ran down that floor, wouldn't they?
I like the way you think.

To steal borrow from Jurassic - you must be a Red Sox fan.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Traveling? Husker John Basketball 7 Fri Mar 09, 2007 08:04am
Traveling, yes or no? Joefan99 Basketball 17 Fri Feb 11, 2005 11:15am
traveling or not stewcall Basketball 5 Sat Feb 05, 2005 08:27pm
traveling? ctpfive Basketball 15 Sun Jan 30, 2005 03:20pm
traveling or what? kkopfman Basketball 9 Thu Jan 13, 2005 03:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1