The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 15, 2007, 02:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 845
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukealex
Not quite, on a throw in, the player receiving the pass while airborn can jump from the FC and land in the BC and vice versa without a violation because there is no team control on a throw in (FED and I think NCAA-M but not NCAA-W, but I could be wrong with the NCAA rules).

When there is team control, a player cannot jump from the BC, catch the pass, then land in the FC, assuming FC status has been attained.
Rule 9-9-3. The exception only applies if the player has jumped from front court and obtains control of the ball while in the air. This player is allowed a normal landing. It does not matter how the feet land on the court. (Federation)
I do not know the NCAA 'Throw-in exception' rule, but it is very similar to Federation. There is Team Control during a throw-in for college. It only is relavent if there is a foul during the throw-in.
One more thing to remember during a throw-in. If A1 jumps from the BC and secures control of the ball in the air, then you need to be aware how their feet touch the court. It would be a BC violation if the 1st foot touches the FC followed by the 2nd foot touching the BC.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 15, 2007, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
On a throw-in (in NFHS) there is no team control. The ball will not have any "status" until it is controlled in bounds. 9-9-3 allows for the special case when a player jumps from FC, catches the ball, and lands with one or both feet in BC. It states this in not a violation no matter which foot touches first, so long as the landing is "normal." In the case where the player landed straddling the division line, the ball would have BC status and there would be no violation even if the FC foot touched first - so long as the landing was normal.

If, on a throw-in, A1 jumps from FC, secures the ball in the air, and passes to A2 in BC, this would be a violation.

A1 who has FC status, deflects a throw-in into BC where A2 secures control would not be a violation. Team control is not established until A2 secures control.
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Violation? Johnny Ringo Basketball 6 Fri Feb 09, 2007 01:45pm
24 Sec Violation bogref_jed Basketball 12 Sun Jan 14, 2007 02:32pm
Violation? Johnny Ringo Basketball 6 Wed Dec 13, 2006 07:18pm
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm
violation or not? BigDave Basketball 9 Tue Jun 05, 2001 01:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1