The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 01:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,281
Correctable error???

Cany find my rule boohs and cant get to the NFHS site.. so here is the play. happened last night in a summer league. (not my game)

Team A has ball for throw-in with 1.7 second left to go in a 36-36 ball game.

A1 has ball for throwin. A2 pushes on throw-in before abll is caught inbounds and is called for a foul. Official mistakenly calls it team control and gives Team b for throw-in. Team B throws ball in, buzzer goes off. The scorer notifies the official that there shoold have been a 1&1.

Is this correctable/

I will tell you what they after I figure out the ruling.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 01:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Yes, the error of failing to award merited FTs is still correctable. If by "buzzer goes off" you mean that the period ending horn sounded for the 4th quarter with the score tied at 36, then the first FT gets attempted with the lane cleared and if it successful the game is over, if it is missed then an extra period will be played.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 06:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
As Nevada stated, the error is correctable. The actions were part of the 4th period thus requiring the player who got push by to shoot free-throws.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 08:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
So was the mistake, calling it team control (an error in judgement),
or not knowing the foul count? What was it the scorer said to make it a 1&1 situation?
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm
So was the mistake, calling it team control (an error in judgement),
or not knowing the foul count? What was it the scorer said to make it a 1&1 situation?
As I read it - it wasn't an "error in judgement" calling the team control foul, but rather a misapplication of a rule. In NFHS, team control does not exist during a throw-in, so any common fouls that occur by the offense are penalized with whatever bonus FT's are in effect at that time. Therefore, it falls under the correctable error guidelines as "failing to award merited free throws".

If the game was being played under NCAA rules, they would've called it correctly because there is team control during a throw-in.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
As I read it - it wasn't an "error in judgement" calling the team control foul, but rather a misapplication of a rule. In NFHS, team control does not exist during a throw-in, so any common fouls that occur by the offense are penalized with whatever bonus FT's are in effect at that time. Therefore, it falls under the correctable error guidelines as "failing to award merited free throws".
There are cases in which "team control" is subject to judgment. For example when one official calls an offensive foul off the ball and there is a try: it is necessary to decide whether the foul was before or after the try. Such a decision cannot be questioned for a correctable error, because it is a judgment call. That's why in FIBA the "team control" punch signal is repeated when reporting the foul, so that it is clear why no free throws will be shot.

In the OP situation I agree that it is a correctable error: the rule clearly states that there is no team control.

In FIBA there is team control during a throw-in, so we wouldn't have shot free throws.

Ciao
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 03:28pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm
So was the mistake, calling it team control (an error in judgement),
or not knowing the foul count? What was it the scorer said to make it a 1&1 situation?

The mistake (error) is failure to award a merited free throw.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
The mistake (error) is failure to award a merited free throw.
How do you know that? The mistake may have been the judgement that it was a team control foul. Kelvin Green will have to answer the "what was the mistake and what did the scorer say that indicates free-throws were missed.


As M&M reads the OP, I agree, but I am still curious about what happened.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My first correctable error??? WyMike Basketball 25 Wed Mar 23, 2005 08:45am
Correctable error or not?? VaCoach Basketball 5 Tue Feb 22, 2005 10:43am
Correctable Error MWI Basketball 5 Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:40pm
correctable error coldbears Basketball 60 Fri Mar 19, 2004 01:37pm
correctable error?? cmathews Basketball 7 Wed Feb 26, 2003 01:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1