View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 10:10am
eg-italy eg-italy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
As I read it - it wasn't an "error in judgement" calling the team control foul, but rather a misapplication of a rule. In NFHS, team control does not exist during a throw-in, so any common fouls that occur by the offense are penalized with whatever bonus FT's are in effect at that time. Therefore, it falls under the correctable error guidelines as "failing to award merited free throws".
There are cases in which "team control" is subject to judgment. For example when one official calls an offensive foul off the ball and there is a try: it is necessary to decide whether the foul was before or after the try. Such a decision cannot be questioned for a correctable error, because it is a judgment call. That's why in FIBA the "team control" punch signal is repeated when reporting the foul, so that it is clear why no free throws will be shot.

In the OP situation I agree that it is a correctable error: the rule clearly states that there is no team control.

In FIBA there is team control during a throw-in, so we wouldn't have shot free throws.

Ciao
Reply With Quote