![]() |
|
|
|||
Bonehead play of the week.
Boys AAU 17 under Super Pool
Division Pool Play Team B just scored to bring the score to 60- 56 team A leading with 00:14:06 to play.Team B called time out after the score. Resumptiion of play Team A's ball to inbound on the base line with the ability to run the end line. A2 and B3 are jostling for position just sort of banging bodies a little (B3 has about a 4 inch height advantage on A2 and wants to keep between him and the ball) - I still have the ball and I am just getting ready to step in and stop the jostling for position when A2 looks up to B3 and nails him in the side with an elbow that disables him for a second. I put the whistle in my mouth give it a tweet, make sure we do not have any retaliation and head to the table ...? What do you have? |
|
|||
Quote:
Same call and choices under NCAA rules--NCAA rules 4-26-5&7. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Mon Apr 23, 2007 at 08:30am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Is that right JR? I thought intentional technical was only NCAA mens. For NFHS, you can only have technical or flagrant technical. In NCAA, you could have technical, intentional technical, or flagrant technical. |
|
|||
Quote:
NCAA - Same (because there is contact it cannot be a technical by itself) |
|
|||
Quote:
NCAAM - Same NCAAW - Flagrant technical is the only choice. (There is no intentional technical in NCAAW.) |
|
|||
Quote:
Rule 10-7: Art. 3. (Women) A direct technical foul is also a non-flagrant foul by any player that involves contact or causes contact with an opponent while the ball is dead.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
|
|||
I go to the table issue the Flagrant Technical Foul, because the player looked right at him and then nailed him,
both free throws were made Team B scored to tie it and we went to overtime. Team A came from behind in overtime to win by 5 points 70 - 65, Team A coach had no problem with the call it was one of those where everyone in the gym saw it happen because it was the only action going on on the floor at the time. The game had approximately 55 fouls w/two technicals including this one. 5 players fouled out. |
|
|||
Quote:
NFHS rule 4-19-4 says "A technical foul is an intentional or flagrant contact foul while the ball is dead....." |
|
|||
Quote:
I guess my point earlier was that there really isn't a difference between a technical or intentional technical in NFHS. But I could be wrong here again too. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
I had a similar situation in AAU ball this weekend. 2:30 to go in a quarterfinal 17U game, Team A is up 54-53. We've already had 2 technicals in the game for pushing and shoving after a play, and these teams just don't like each other. Two man game, I'm inbounding in front of the table. Just as I put the ball in play, A1 starts to turn to pick B1, and B1 responds by giving a sharp elbow to the temple. I immediately called flagrant and tossed him. HC for Team B didn't say a word.
I think your situation also sounds like it deserves a flagrant.
__________________
I know God would never give me more than I could handle, I just wish he wouldn't trust me so much. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Bonehead Umpire | blueump | Baseball | 9 | Thu May 12, 2005 12:59am |
Play of the week | Kelvin green | Basketball | 6 | Fri Nov 07, 2003 08:32pm |
My bonehead PSK...... | chris s | Football | 0 | Sun Oct 26, 2003 07:40pm |
Interp of the Week - Week #2 | Jim Porter | Baseball | 17 | Wed Mar 07, 2001 02:45pm |
Bonehead play of the week | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 3 | Wed Dec 20, 2000 02:15pm |