![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
You wrote, "In Mark Dexter's 4 points, offense does not always have to have control (point #1)." That is completely and totally FALSE. Team A must ALWAYS have team control for a BC violation to occur. In the case play that you quote, team control is established when A2 catches the ball. That's why there's a BC violation in the case play. Here endeth the lesson.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
For those of you who cannot navigate through the rulebook/casebook and put this scenario to rest, read page 72 of the NFHS Casebook (2007-2008) and read 9.9.1 Situation D. At the end of the scenario it then says to reference Rule 9.9.3 which means you now go to the NFHS Rulebook (2007-2008) on Page 58. I hope we all can sleep well now after reading and educating ourselves more of how truly complicated the throw-in can actually be in this wonderful game of basketball. Stay on your toes and keep your game sharp.
Bomber |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
then it sits for a month until you resurrect it again. Give it up. |
|
|||
Quote:
What you wrote above is NOT and NEVER has been a violation. Read your rulebook. Specifically read NFHS rule 9-9-1. Then find somebody to explain it to you. Ask them if they can find anywhere in your statement where team control had been established in the frontcourt. Ask them to explain to you that merely "touching" a ball does NOT establish player/team control. You're trying to apply principles from rule 9-9-3 that just aren't applicable. Why aren't they applicable? Pay close attention. Because in 9-9-3 and the irrelevant case book play that you cited, team control WAS established in the frontcourt. Lah me........ ![]() Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Fri Dec 07, 2007 at 08:20am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|