Quote:
Originally Posted by udbomber
Pay close attention: My response was to Mark Dexter's rule of thumb for throw in backcourt violations in particular #1.
There can be a violation for A2 if he leaves the frontcourt with feet in the air on an inbounds pass and the defense touches the ball, then A2 catches ball in the air and lands in backcourt. His player location is now established immediately as frontcourt with the touch of the defense since his last spot was in the frontcourt where his feet were before going airborne.
|
ALAN, PAY CLOSE ATTENTION!
You wrote, "In Mark Dexter's 4 points, offense does not always have to have control (point #1)."
That is completely and totally FALSE.
Team A must ALWAYS have team control for a BC violation to occur.
In the case play that you quote, team control is established when A2 catches the ball. That's why there's a BC violation in the case play.
Here endeth the lesson.