Thread: back court
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 07, 2007, 08:08am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by udbomber
In Mark Dexter's 4 points, offense does not always have to have control (point #1). Yes it is true, offense can juggle ball across the line and not have control but if the defense touches the ball on the throw-in, the throw-in ends and ball, now TOUCHING offense and going into backcourt , and now being touched by offense first is a backcourt violation.
Pay close attention.

What you wrote above is NOT and NEVER has been a violation.

Read your rulebook. Specifically read NFHS rule 9-9-1. Then find somebody to explain it to you. Ask them if they can find anywhere in your statement where team control had been established in the frontcourt. Ask them to explain to you that merely "touching" a ball does NOT establish player/team control.

You're trying to apply principles from rule 9-9-3 that just aren't applicable. Why aren't they applicable? Pay close attention. Because in 9-9-3 and the irrelevant case book play that you cited, team control WAS established in the frontcourt.

Lah me........

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Fri Dec 07, 2007 at 08:20am.
Reply With Quote