The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 11:21am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by etruland
That's not an IW. WE have a timing mistake. Since we must put time back on, put ball back to throw in spot.
Hey Earl. Welcome to the forum!!

I agree that it's technically not an inadvertent whistle. But why does putting time back on the clock mean that we must go back to the original throw-in spot? I don't get the connection between those two things.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Hey Earl. Welcome to the forum!!

I agree that it's technically not an inadvertent whistle. But why does putting time back on the clock mean that we must go back to the original throw-in spot? I don't get the connection between those two things.
Let me try to simplify this whole thing. This is an official's timeout. The official blew the whistle to make a correction. If a team calls a timeout before the throw-in is completed, where is the next throw-in? The ball has not yet achieved any status other than its original position.
On a throw-in, if the ball bounces in the frontcourt, has it attained front court status? No. A player in the backcourt may be the 1st to touch it after it touches the floor in the frontcourt.
The same applies to this situation.
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalreff
Let me try to simplify this whole thing. This is an official's timeout.
Officials don't get time outs.

"Official's timeout" is announcer-speak.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalreff
On a throw-in, if the ball bounces in the frontcourt, has it attained front court status? No. A player in the backcourt may be the 1st to touch it after it touches the floor in the frontcourt.
Yes, it has attained front court status. Take another look at 4-4-2. The rules for backcourt violation and backcourt status are related, but there are key differences.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
Yes, it has attained front court status. Take another look at 4-4-2. The rules for backcourt violation and backcourt status are related, but there are key differences.
Mark, I think he has it correct. If the ball and only the ball touches the front court, it does not attain front court status yet.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 01:30pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Mark, I think he has it correct. If the ball and only the ball touches the front court, it does not attain front court status yet.
Just because there's no team control doesn't mean it hasn't attained FC status.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Mark, I think he has it correct. If the ball and only the ball touches the front court, it does not attain front court status yet.
NFHS 4-4-2:
A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.

Q.E.D.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Mark, I think he has it correct. If the ball and only the ball touches the front court, it does not attain front court status yet.
See also 9-9-2.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 07:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
See also 9-9-2.
How can there be BC, when there's no team control? Which end is the backcourt when neither team has control?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 08:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
How can there be BC, when there's no team control? Which end is the backcourt when neither team has control?
Juulie - I was using 9-9-2 to illustrate the fact that the ball doesn't need to be touched in FC/BC to attain such a status. That said, a TEAM has its own FC/BC established whether there is control or not (4-13).
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
the time displayed as post time is way off chuck chopper General / Off-Topic 2 Wed Mar 29, 2006 02:09pm
First One in a long time FrankHtown Basketball 8 Thu Dec 22, 2005 02:34pm
Long time no post... brandan89 Basketball 21 Wed Sep 29, 2004 05:30pm
Another long time listener, first time caller Fifth And Goal Basketball 11 Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:30am
When is it time to call Time / Dead ball? Deion Softball 1 Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1