![]() |
|
|
|||
I must be missing something, or not reading everything. The majority of us would put the time back on the clock and the ball back in play at the endline. To put the ball in play where the ball was, in my opinion wouldn't work for me, simply because the throw-in never ended, so how can I change the location of the throw-in? But to try and justify by any rule to give the ball back to Team B in this situation is absurd.
In the caseplay 7.5.4 sit. D.. Official inadverntely blows the whistle while Team A's successful try is airborne.. Ruling. Even though by rule there is no team control during this dead ball period, the ball would be given to TEam B for a throw-in anywhere along the endline. Team B would have clearly received the ball had the official not acidentally sound his/her whistle. Yes, I know that caseplay is talking about an IW, but the intent of the ruling by the FED in that situation could and should be applied in this situation. So in the OP, Team A would not or could not lose possession because of the idiot timekeeper starting the clock when it shouldn't have started, period. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Even though the stoppage occurred during a throw-in, the POI rule does not apply because the reason for the stoppage is NOT one of those listed in 4-36-1. We agree that this is not an accidental whistle, right? It is unfortunate, but I believe that the rule which governs this play is 6-4-3e. That describes the conditions under which the ball became dead. That rule says to use the AP arrow at the location of the ball. See the problem? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Nice. I prefer to interpret it as "or". It's not hard.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
Sorry that you don't agree, but you are going to be in the minority on that one. |
|
|||
Quote:
1. Even though this is a debate between 2 people your interpretation is that one of us in in the minority. Is it possible to be promoted from King of Bullsh1t Interpretations to something higher? Emperor? Need to look into that. 2. If they meant it your way simply inserting the word "either" would have made it clear. Example: A1 is standing OOB when the ball bounces off his hands and lands OOB on the other sideline (let's assume A1 is Chuck). Where's the throw-in spot? Where it last touched the player or where it most recently touched either the player or the floor?
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
2. I'm sorry that the diction of the NFHS rules committee isn't up to your standards. You'll have to take that up with them. I'm still convinced that my understanding of what their words mean is quite reasonable. |
|
|||
Quote:
What else can we do? How about we take a look at the definition of when a throw-in ends???
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Last edited by Nevadaref; Sun Mar 25, 2007 at 07:36pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
the time displayed as post time is way off | chuck chopper | General / Off-Topic | 2 | Wed Mar 29, 2006 02:09pm |
First One in a long time | FrankHtown | Basketball | 8 | Thu Dec 22, 2005 02:34pm |
Long time no post... | brandan89 | Basketball | 21 | Wed Sep 29, 2004 05:30pm |
Another long time listener, first time caller | Fifth And Goal | Basketball | 11 | Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:30am |
When is it time to call Time / Dead ball? | Deion | Softball | 1 | Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:50am |