![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Here's how to call the play, already laid out for everybody.....
NCAA Rule 9-4AR181: Team A sets a double screen for A1, who, in attempting to come across the free-throw lane is legally obstructed by offensive and defensive players so that A1 leaves the playing court under the basket, circles around, returns to the playing court and then is the first to receive the ball. RULING A violation has been committed by A1 for leaving the playing court and then becoming the first player to touch the ball upon return. Note that there is no provision that the ball must be passed while the player is OOB. Also note that NCAA rule 9-4-1 applies on all endlines and sidelines to any player that leaves under their own volition, i.e. willingly. And rule 9-4-1(a) as previously cited in this thread is only an exception related to offensive players being legally OOB on their endline after a made basket or FT by the other team. That they can come back in-bounds and receive the throw-in is all R9-4-1(a) is telling you. That's my understanding of how everything is to be interpreted. |
|
|||
|
Adam,
JR just cited the A.R. which defines it for you. Your understanding is not correct per the rules. The NCAA put something out a few years ago that said what bigwhistle wrote in post #6 (A1 to A2 to A3), but I can't recall where that was written--perhaps in an A.R., perhaps it was a bulletin. Anyway bigwhistle's OP is completely correct. This rule is being completely ignored to the point of why even have it. I've seen numerous examples of it being broken, including a play in the NCAA tournament last year by UCLA. Hank Nichols needs to take a look at this and provide clear direction or scrap the rule. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
I'm a little confused.
Someone please tell me what is correct in these situations: 1. A1 is holding the ball when A2 is out of bounds. A1 releases the ball on a pass, then A2 legally establishes position inbounds, then is the first player to touch. Easy violation. 2. A1 is holding the ball when A2 is out of bounds. A2 legally establishes position in bounds, then A1 (who is the first to touch after A2 is inbounds) releases the ball. A2 is the next to touch. Is this a violation? 3. A1 is holding the ball when A2 is out of bounds. A2 legally establishes position in bounds, then A1 dribbles the ball once, then passes to A2, who is the next to touch. Is this a violation? I guess my biggest question is this: Wouldn't the first player to touch the ball be the player holding onto the ball when A2 becomes an inbounds player? |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| DH rule NCAA | ggk | Baseball | 7 | Sun Oct 15, 2006 12:12am |
| NCAA rule changes | grantsrc | Football | 5 | Sun Feb 12, 2006 03:17pm |
| What Rules Do High School Coaches Most Consistently Misunderstand? | assignmentmaker | Basketball | 16 | Thu Sep 22, 2005 09:08pm |
| NCAA rule for '05 | ChuckElias | Basketball | 10 | Thu Jul 07, 2005 03:49pm |
| NCAA rule changes | Madine30 | Basketball | 5 | Thu Aug 03, 2000 07:23pm |