![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I remember debating this rule at the meeting when they changed it and we couldn't come to a consensus on it's definition. The more we talked about it, the more confusing it got. Really have no idea what the NCAA is trying to accomplish with this one. NFHS did make it clearer. It's a violation the minute you intentionally do it. |
|
|||
|
I think the end line is used as an example because this is where it is most common to take place. I rarely see a screen set where a player runs out on the sideline.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The AR is saying that if A2 goes OOB after a made basket (note that this would be on the end-line), then A2 can return and be the first to receive a pass from A1 without it being a violation. |
|
|||
|
In order for the player to be the first to touch the ball after returning from out of bounds, the ball must be passed while the player is out of bounds. Otherwise, the player is not the first to touch it inbounds, since the passer is still touching it and is inbounds.
Are you sure this is what you saw?
__________________
I couldn't afford a cool signature, so I just got this one. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Here's how to call the play, already laid out for everybody.....
NCAA Rule 9-4AR181: Team A sets a double screen for A1, who, in attempting to come across the free-throw lane is legally obstructed by offensive and defensive players so that A1 leaves the playing court under the basket, circles around, returns to the playing court and then is the first to receive the ball. RULING A violation has been committed by A1 for leaving the playing court and then becoming the first player to touch the ball upon return. Note that there is no provision that the ball must be passed while the player is OOB. Also note that NCAA rule 9-4-1 applies on all endlines and sidelines to any player that leaves under their own volition, i.e. willingly. And rule 9-4-1(a) as previously cited in this thread is only an exception related to offensive players being legally OOB on their endline after a made basket or FT by the other team. That they can come back in-bounds and receive the throw-in is all R9-4-1(a) is telling you. That's my understanding of how everything is to be interpreted. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| DH rule NCAA | ggk | Baseball | 7 | Sun Oct 15, 2006 12:12am |
| NCAA rule changes | grantsrc | Football | 5 | Sun Feb 12, 2006 03:17pm |
| What Rules Do High School Coaches Most Consistently Misunderstand? | assignmentmaker | Basketball | 16 | Thu Sep 22, 2005 09:08pm |
| NCAA rule for '05 | ChuckElias | Basketball | 10 | Thu Jul 07, 2005 03:49pm |
| NCAA rule changes | Madine30 | Basketball | 5 | Thu Aug 03, 2000 07:23pm |